Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-15-2012, 11:13 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 3
Share |
Default

Upright freezer and Dryer on the same breaker?


I recently purchased a Kenmore Elite 13.7 cu ft Upright Freezer from Sears. Upon bringing it home and placing it where we had planned to use it (in the laundry room), I realized that cord isn't long enough to reach the only 110 outlet in the room.

There is another option though, and I need to know if it's viable. The circuit that the dryer runs on comes out of the wall into a junction box and then Runs in metal conduit along the baseboards to the big dryer plug. This junction box lives right next to the where we've placed the freezer.

So here's my question...could I install a 110 outlet in this junction box and run the freezer and the dryer on the same circuit? It's a 30 amp breaker and there's nothing else on it. Is this safer than running it on an industrial extension cord to the 110 plug that the washer is also on?

The extension cord is definitely what we want to avoid, because I've read that it could void my warranty but I'm not sure. Any opinions or comments on this from you electrical wizards would be much appreciated!
chadmcclarnon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2012, 11:17 PM   #2
Member
 
Julius793's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: New york
Posts: 1,052
Default

Upright freezer and Dryer on the same breaker?


Your dryer is a 240 volt most Likely and there for under no circumstance be used! Run another line from the panel.
__________________
Electricity will kill you if you give it a chance
Julius793 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2012, 11:22 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 3
Default

Upright freezer and Dryer on the same breaker?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Julius793
Your dryer is a 240 volt most Likely and there for under no circumstance be used! Run another line from the panel.
I guess that's the root of my question...is the voltage (240/220 vs 110) controlled by the breaker, the wiring, or the outlet? The wires in the junction box look no different than the ones in my light fixtures...just the solid copper wires.
chadmcclarnon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2012, 11:51 PM   #4
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 4,834
Default

Upright freezer and Dryer on the same breaker?


About 99% of electric heated dryers are 120/240 volts so it requires both voltages. Since you said it had a big plug, that would sure seem to make it an electric dryer and not gas which only needs 120 volts for light, motor and ignition.

Your electric dryer needs a 30 amp branch circuit protected by a double pole 30 amp breaker.

Your freezer should be on a 120 volt 15 or 20 amp branch circuit.

Dryers almost always need separate or dedicated branch circuits so even though 120 volts is available it would not be code complaint to put the freezer on the branch circuit. And then you will have an equipment ground problem if the existing dryer branch circuit only has 3 wires and no equipment ground.
__________________
" One nice thing about the NEC articles ... you have lots of choices"

Stubbie
Stubbie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2012, 12:26 AM   #5
Member
 
Julius793's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: New york
Posts: 1,052
Default

Upright freezer and Dryer on the same breaker?


Quote:
Originally Posted by chadmcclarnon

I guess that's the root of my question...is the voltage (240/220 vs 110) controlled by the breaker, the wiring, or the outlet? The wires in the junction box look no different than the ones in my light fixtures...just the solid copper wires.
It's controlled by the configuration of the breakers in the panel. Being that it seems your not familiar with a panel I would suggest calling in an electrician to run a new 15/20a 120v line.
__________________
Electricity will kill you if you give it a chance
Julius793 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2012, 12:36 AM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 3
Default

Upright freezer and Dryer on the same breaker?


Awesome, thanks so much! And Julius is right, I'm very unfamiliar with the inner-workings of the panel...I can change a plug and a light, that's about it. Will definitely call an electrician in now. This forum is the best!

- Chad
chadmcclarnon is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need to upgrade from 100 amp to a 200 amp main breaker unknowing Electrical 32 03-24-2011 12:08 PM
HA! Breaker setup, also a few questions. CoconutPete Electrical 6 05-05-2010 12:26 PM
Main disconnect/breaker trips when freezer not plugged in isuzudave Electrical 7 05-06-2009 09:13 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.