Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-20-2010, 07:39 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Central Indiana (USA)
Posts: 1,316
Share |
Default

upgrading service


When upgrading the service from, say 100 to 200 amp, does the POCO usually need to upgrade their wires, or do theirs generally deliver 200 amp service? I know the answer will probably depend on locality, and calling the local POCO will be necesary, but I'm just asking as a general rule of thumb.

sirsparksalot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2010, 09:29 AM   #2
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,506
Default

upgrading service


As you suspected this is under the control of the utility. Often times the original wires are not upgraded.

__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
upgrading to 200 amp service Vikeologist Electrical 10 12-20-2009 06:38 PM
Need opinions on the cost/necessity of upgrading service. Simplemines Electrical 3 10-19-2008 09:41 AM
upgrading service for added garage jakeb Electrical 12 03-29-2008 12:18 PM
upgrading service cable Clutchcargo Electrical 1 06-22-2007 10:04 AM
Upgrading Service to 200 amps sandyman720 Electrical 6 03-30-2007 05:37 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.