Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-27-2007, 12:09 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 209
Share |
Default

Upgrading Service to 200 amps


Hello All,

I will be upgrading my service to 200 amps. Which size feeder cable from the top of my house to the meter and from the meter to the panel should I use?

sandyman720 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2007, 01:12 PM   #2
Member
 
jproffer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Chester, IL
Posts: 1,195
Default

Upgrading Service to 200 amps


Call YOUR POCO, they set the spec's for the service entrance. It varies alot. For instance I know of places that allow the nuetral to be one size smaller...where I live, they don't. They all have their quirks, SEC size, ringless meter can or not...etc, etc.

I would also suggest getting an electrician to do this. I know this is the DIY forum, but changing a S/E isn't really a DIY project.

However you do it, good luck to you.

jproffer is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2007, 09:40 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 21
Default

Upgrading Service to 200 amps


typically the rule of thumb for 200 amp service feeders are two 4/O wires for your hot wires and 2/O for your neutral. i agree with jproffer though, if you dont know then you should talk to the power company or just get an electrician to do it, although paying someone to do a service change can cost alot of money.
-gooch
gooch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2007, 10:11 PM   #4
Member
 
jproffer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Chester, IL
Posts: 1,195
Default

Upgrading Service to 200 amps


Quote:
although paying someone to do a service change can cost alot of money.
So can having your house rebuilt because it burned down. If your lucky, it won't even kill anyone .
jproffer is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2007, 01:38 AM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 40
Default

Upgrading Service to 200 amps


Quote:
Originally Posted by jproffer View Post
So can having your house rebuilt because it burned down. If your lucky, it won't even kill anyone .
Especially if the insurance company says that the cause was faulty wiring done without a permit or inspection and denies the claim for payment on the policy.
oldgoat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2007, 01:42 AM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 21
Default

Upgrading Service to 200 amps


Quote:
Originally Posted by oldgoat View Post
Especially if the insurance company says that the cause was faulty wiring done without a permit or inspection and denies the claim for payment on the policy.
he can pull a homeowner permit and do the work himself and still have it inspected as long as he is the homeowner. at least that how it works where i live in washington state. again i agree that he should have an electrician do the work, but if he gets the service change inspected he should be all right as long as the inspector takes a good look at it to make sure every thing is done right.
gooch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2007, 05:37 AM   #7
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,784
Default

Upgrading Service to 200 amps


And the part about insurance companies not paying if no "permits were filed" is a long standing MYTH. It is simply not so.

The only time this is true is if it is found to be intentionally malicious. In that case though the insurance company is the least of your worries.

__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
This doesnt seem right. JoulesWinfield Electrical 27 07-26-2009 07:40 PM
200 amp panel with a 100 amp service? alexz Electrical 10 07-29-2007 10:00 PM
upgrading service cable Clutchcargo Electrical 1 06-22-2007 10:04 AM
Upgrading service sandyman720 Electrical 1 03-15-2007 04:48 PM
Suspected open/loose service neutral mrtomwj Electrical 5 09-28-2006 08:46 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.