Upgrading Panel And Adding Grounding Rod - Electrical - Page 2 - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-25-2012, 09:35 PM   #16
Electrical Contractor
 
rrolleston's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Granville, NY
Posts: 1,941
Rewards Points: 1,000
Send a message via AIM to rrolleston Send a message via Yahoo to rrolleston
Default

Upgrading panel and adding grounding rod


Quote:
Originally Posted by Dierte View Post
Also when done correctly double tapping your meter is perfectly legal.
Double tapping the meter is only legal if the meter allows it and the POCO allows it.

Advertisement

__________________
With Electricity there is the right way to do it and the dead way. Just because it works does not make it safe.
rrolleston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2012, 09:49 PM   #17
Electrical Contractor
 
rrolleston's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Granville, NY
Posts: 1,941
Rewards Points: 1,000
Send a message via AIM to rrolleston Send a message via Yahoo to rrolleston
Default

Upgrading panel and adding grounding rod


I did my own service years ago and have helped with some other service installs. It's not an easy job but can be done. Best thing to do is install a new service that will meet all code requirements and POCO requirements next to your old service and get it inspected.

And then use your old panels as sub panels that one cluster of a panel should just be replaced and done right with a new panel. I do like the idea of those meter main combo units. You can get one with feed through lugs and feed a 200 amp sub panel inside.

I just did a service a couple months ago with one and it was easy.

For you all you need is meter main, conduit, weather head, wire, ground wire and rods some other hardware items and it could be easily done for under a thousand.
__________________
With Electricity there is the right way to do it and the dead way. Just because it works does not make it safe.
rrolleston is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to rrolleston For This Useful Post:
Missouri Bound (02-25-2012)
Old 02-25-2012, 10:07 PM   #18
Electrical Contractor
 
rrolleston's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Granville, NY
Posts: 1,941
Rewards Points: 1,000
Send a message via AIM to rrolleston Send a message via Yahoo to rrolleston
Default

Upgrading panel and adding grounding rod


here is the panel used I bought mine from the local electric supply but this is about the same price I paid. I did an underground service about 50' from the pole. Charged around 1200 and it was only about 700 in materials and a days worth of work.

http://www.elliottelectric.com/Produ...20070727093909

EDIT: I should add they dug their own trench and installed the two required 6x6 posts for me.

Advertisement

__________________
With Electricity there is the right way to do it and the dead way. Just because it works does not make it safe.

Last edited by rrolleston; 02-25-2012 at 10:17 PM.
rrolleston is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
150amp , grounding rod , service panel


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Upgrading to a 200 amp panel hartkem Electrical 0 08-01-2010 05:03 PM
Adding a Sub Panel for Transfer Switch dcopps Electrical 27 08-24-2009 11:36 AM
Adding a second Electric sub panel TW Lucas Electrical 9 10-05-2008 03:37 AM
Adding ground bar to main panel WoodworkerDave Electrical 6 09-27-2008 05:52 PM
Adding new circuit breakers to 100 amp sub panel DrP Electrical 8 05-25-2006 11:05 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts