Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-02-2007, 11:15 PM   #16
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Share |
Default

Upgrading garage wiring


Quote:
Originally Posted by SwiftyMcV View Post
NO!!! #6 CU is good for 65Amps, $6 ALU is good for 55 amps and #8 CU is good for for 50 AMPS

***** MAKE SURE YOU GET R90 LOOMEX... basically rated for 90 Degrees C/ (167oF)

SwiftyMcV;

sorry to slam on ya for a min but i do understand you are from Candana area so this OP is from USA [ OP in Georgia area ] and the ampcapity for NM's are diffrent than what you have up there

but basically yeah we have NM-B that is very simuair to your R90 Loomex but to hook up we have to use either 60C or 75C depending on type of wire size and breaker/ fuse termation there so basically ,..

#6 THHN/THWN is good up to 65 amps but here a tricky part when you get to the Loomex [ NM ] the rating drop down to 55 amp [ both at copper wires ]
#6 Alum SER [ 4 wire type ] useally are rated at 50 amp max.

#8 THHN/THWN is good for 50 amp but in Loomax verison it drop dpwn to 40 amp here [ i wont even bother the alum rating on this size but it will be 30 amp BTW ]

hope it will clear up some facts here

Merci , Marc

frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2007, 11:18 PM   #17
4th Year Apprentice
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Coquitlam BC, Canada
Posts: 27
Default

Upgrading garage wiring


yikes then it sucks to be in America lol
SwiftyMcV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2007, 11:22 PM   #18
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Default

Upgrading garage wiring


LOL but you should see how we done in European area i am oringally from France so i know the wire is more weirder than both USA / Canada verison

but dont get into their [ France ] colour codes they have 3 or 4 diffrent type of colour codes it will really make you look like this >>

i been there see there and done that so i know what it will look like

Merci , Marc
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2007, 06:41 AM   #19
Electrician philosopher
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Lilburn, GA
Posts: 838
Default

Upgrading garage wiring


Dang, I had my codebook open and everything! In the US romex (the OP specifically referenced Romex in the questios I replied to) must be in the 60 deg column.
Andy in ATL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2007, 07:00 AM   #20
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,798
Default

Upgrading garage wiring


Quote:
Originally Posted by SwiftyMcV View Post
***** MAKE SURE YOU GET R90 LOOMEX... basically rated for 90 Degrees C/ (167oF)
Swifty, like French says, I assume you are in Canada. Even though this is a non-location specific web site PLEASE be careful in giving advice like this. It will definitely confuse a DIYer from the states. The OP has his location in his profile and it is the US.

Why don't you fill out your profile with your location.
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2007, 11:23 AM   #21
4th Year Apprentice
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Coquitlam BC, Canada
Posts: 27
Default

Upgrading garage wiring


Quote:
Originally Posted by Speedy Petey View Post
Swifty, like French says, I assume you are in Canada. Even though this is a non-location specific web site PLEASE be careful in giving advice like this. It will definitely confuse a DIYer from the states. The OP has his location in his profile and it is the US.

Why don't you fill out your profile with your location.
sorry np, who knew that living in Canada that alot of industries would be soo much easier lol.

One thing USA has going against it is all the different States having different rulings for code. Yes out provinces are ALITTLE different, but they are pretty much 99% identical in our coding in Electrical and other trades
SwiftyMcV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2007, 12:20 PM   #22
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 4,980
Default

Upgrading garage wiring


Quote:
One thing USA has going against it is all the different States having different rulings for code. Yes out provinces are A LITTLE different, but they are pretty much 99% identical in our coding in Electrical and other trades
Ooops...you made another incorrect assumption. All states and cities adopt the National Electrical Code and make only a few modifications or exemptions. Such as they may not require afci for bedrooms, or 4 wire feeds to outbuildings. For the most part we wire identically in all states and cities. There are some hardware differences from area to area but we all follow the NEC.
__________________
" One nice thing about the NEC articles ... you have lots of choices"

Stubbie
Stubbie is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2007, 12:28 PM   #23
4th Year Apprentice
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Coquitlam BC, Canada
Posts: 27
Default

Upgrading garage wiring


sorry i ment hardware differences aswell... in that case we seem to have better "designed" hardware that has winder variances / ratings. One thing you guys would love is Teck Cable... cheap, flexible, rated for direct burial, rated for all weather use, hell it can even be submerged in water(aslong as the connector isnt). Basically landscaping a yard is made damn simple... no more PVC or conduit needed
SwiftyMcV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2007, 01:41 PM   #24
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Downeast Maine
Posts: 999
Default

Upgrading garage wiring


Around here we've got UF cable which is like romex but is approved for direct burial. So conduit isn't required for 110V landscape lighting south of the border either.
NateHanson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2007, 04:29 PM   #25
4th Year Apprentice
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Coquitlam BC, Canada
Posts: 27
Default

Upgrading garage wiring


Trust me Teck Cable is superior in every way lol. Not only can it be buried but it can go under driveways/paths or even right in the center of the concrete as it drys. AND it can be run above ground(as in not on your grass ahem lawn mower lol) or on the siding of your house.

Pretty much you never have to transition for any cable type to another when using Teck Cable.

eg) I had to wire a guys hot tub, 120 ft run, run from panel, out through siding of the house, run down the side buried 18 inches deep, then comes up @ the deck and is strapped along the perimiter of the deck just under the lip of it, and all the way up to the disconnect.

Advantages:
simple one run of cable
no transitioning of feeder path/type
no JB's
flexible since its a cable
as resistant to damn as PVC
installs quickly and easily

Disadvantage:
um.... its rarely used in the US

Last edited by SwiftyMcV; 11-03-2007 at 04:35 PM.
SwiftyMcV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2007, 05:11 PM   #26
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Downeast Maine
Posts: 999
Default

Upgrading garage wiring


Hey, I'm not trying to get in a pissing contest about your cable. Just responding to the last post where you seemed to be implying that without "Tech Cable" everyone else had to use PVC conduit for underground wiring.

Also, I'm just an amateur, so I'm not sure, but I thought UF could be imbedded in concrete too. Not sure why you'd do this, but my understanding was that it's allowed.
NateHanson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2007, 08:53 PM   #27
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,798
Default

Upgrading garage wiring


We have a form of tech cable, it just hasn't really caught on.
It is an MC cable rated for direct burial and is approved for use as a spa or pool feeder as well, with NO conduit needed.
Maybe someone know the exact cable designation? I sure don't.

__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Crazy Garage Extension, Building over blacktop?!?! commissure General DIY Discussions 4 09-13-2007 11:09 AM
wiring 220 in garage maberry72 Electrical 1 03-12-2006 11:45 AM
Circuit Wiring for Garage Fluorescents realeyz Electrical 6 12-26-2005 03:27 AM
Garage - Protecting wiring installation eastment Electrical 4 11-26-2005 11:52 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.