Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-28-2009, 02:17 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Arlington, Tx.
Posts: 3
Share |
Default

upgrading electric service


Who do you call first? An electrician or the electric company to find out if the line going to the house will support a 400 amp service.

HitmanZR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2009, 03:55 PM   #2
Electrical Contractor
 
kbsparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Delmarva
Posts: 3,361
Default

upgrading electric service


Are you increasing your connected load by double? In most cases, the POCO will not change anything ahead of the meter unless you are substantially changing the total connected load.

Call the electrician first. If you have doubts of what he says, then call the poco for confirmation.

__________________
-KB

Life is uncertain -- eat dessert first!!
kbsparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2009, 03:57 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Default

upgrading electric service


I called the POCO 1st to find out if I could even get 400a service
They said I could with new wires
Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2009, 04:58 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,294
Default

upgrading electric service


In our case, you just call us.

We will call the power company.

Your existing "line" will need to be upgraded to support the 400A service.

Overhead, no big deal. Underground, bigger deal.
220/221 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2009, 05:41 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Dayton Ohio Area
Posts: 670
Default

upgrading electric service


This was not the case for my house.

Back when the original service was installed underground in the 70s, 4/0 was installed

I just finished an upgrade to 400 amp service, and the POCO installed 4/0 in new conduit I ran....as the old was not in conduit and we are re-locating the transformer further from the house.



Quote:
Originally Posted by 220/221 View Post

Your existing "line" will need to be upgraded to support the 400A service.
__________________
-Andrew
DIY hobbiest
AndrewF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2009, 07:45 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Arlington, Tx.
Posts: 3
Default

upgrading electric service


We currently a have 200a panel. The house was built in 79 and im sure it is the same service that was originally installed. It is all underground and from what I can tell mainly under concrete.
HitmanZR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2009, 08:04 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Default

upgrading electric service


Do you have a transformer on the property?
Or is it all from the pole?
Are all utilities in the area underground?
If the cost of as transformer upgrade (on your property) is your responsibility then the price will go up

I'd call the POCO 1st - that information will be free
Of course if you have an electrician like 220/221 who will find that information out for you - also for free - then you could do that
Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2009, 11:09 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,294
Default

upgrading electric service


Quote:
This was not the case for my house.
I should have said that, based on the hundreds I have seen, the line will have to be changed.

220/221 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need opinions on the cost/necessity of upgrading service. Simplemines Electrical 3 10-19-2008 09:41 AM
upgrading exsisting electric heat brokenbobby HVAC 4 09-15-2008 08:36 AM
upgrading service for added garage jakeb Electrical 12 03-29-2008 12:18 PM
upgrading service cable Clutchcargo Electrical 1 06-22-2007 10:04 AM
Upgrading Service to 200 amps sandyman720 Electrical 6 03-30-2007 05:37 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.