Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 07-18-2008, 09:37 PM   #16
electrical contractor
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Georgia USA
Posts: 181
Share |
Default

Upgrading ---> 200 amp serivce


Is it possible the meter pan is already a 200 amp rated unit? The smallest pan the POCO around here will use is a 200 amp. Maybe just the inside load center is rated at 100 amps, which can be changed by just pulling the meter.

__________________
Jimmy

Life is tough, Life is tougher when you are stupid.
wire_twister is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2008, 05:08 PM   #17
Member
 
jelly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: jersey shore
Posts: 166
Default

Upgrading ---> 200 amp serivce


Since the POCO does not D/R, is it possible that I do not need the permit I just spent $90 on?

Furd, your comments are well noted. Thanks
jelly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2008, 05:36 PM   #18
nap
You talking to me?
 
nap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: sw mi
Posts: 5,407
Default

Upgrading ---> 200 amp serivce


Quote:
Originally Posted by jelly View Post
Since the POCO does not D/R, is it possible that I do not need the permit I just spent $90 on?

Furd, your comments are well noted. Thanks
the need (legally) for a permit is based upon your local jurisdiction, not whether the POCO needs to drop and reconnect.

The POCO, if a permit IS required, would not connect without a green tag but that only means that is what they need to do the reconnect. That does not change the fact of a permit being required or not.
nap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2008, 07:20 PM   #19
Member
 
Knucklez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: ontario canada
Posts: 857
Default

Upgrading ---> 200 amp serivce


in my area, POCO disconnects for free (48 hour notice) and reconnects for free but only reconnets when inspector gives it the OK.

inspector only works on mondays & wednesday, and the cost is $160. this is only for a meter reconnect cost, no new wiring or electrical inspection - only to inspect that the meter is hooked up right and the stack is nicely clamped. everything else is extra.

ps. the inspection takes no more than 10 seconds...

that's like getting paid $23K / hour. ya.. seem out to lunch on the pricing?

did i mention that the home owner didn't even touch the meter - that it was the POCO that disconnected and reconnected it? all home owner did was screw some clamps on... ya... that's fairly pricey.

/rant

on the other hand.. inspector was really nice and made me confident that he would give good advice on any future work (that really does need a permit).
Knucklez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2008, 08:39 PM   #20
Member
 
jelly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: jersey shore
Posts: 166
Default

Upgrading ---> 200 amp serivce


I cant beleive its been 6 weeks and I am still not finished with this job. All I have to do is run the gound over to the water line. Then run a ground line from a cold to a hot pipe before inspection.

Thanks again for the advice.
jelly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2008, 11:09 AM   #21
Member
 
jelly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: jersey shore
Posts: 166
Default

Upgrading ---> 200 amp serivce


The inspector just left and could not close the permit because a certified electrician is supposed to hook up the power and stamp the document. My name is on the permit as a home owner and the electrician who did the work is not certified anymore... he retired a few years ago.

Now what do I do?
jelly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2008, 11:16 AM   #22
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Baltimore, MD
Posts: 1,802
Default

Upgrading ---> 200 amp serivce


Quote:
Originally Posted by jelly View Post
The inspector just left and could not close the permit because a certified electrician is supposed to hook up the power and stamp the document. My name is on the permit as a home owner and the electrician who did the work is not certified anymore... he retired a few years ago.

Now what do I do?
Start calling around and beg your case to a licensed electrician. You might find one to sign off for a few hundred dollars.
jerryh3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2008, 12:12 PM   #23
Member
 
47_47's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Springville, NY
Posts: 1,448
Default

Upgrading ---> 200 amp serivce


Ask your retired electrician for a few names of other electricians who are familiar with his work.

__________________
What we've got here is... failure to communicate. Some men you just can't reach. So you get what we had here last week, which is the way he wants it... well, he gets it.
47_47 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
upgrading furnace and AC orange HVAC 2 07-19-2008 07:03 PM
upgrading service for added garage jakeb Electrical 12 03-29-2008 12:18 PM
upgrading 100amp breaker system to 200amp gloomis29 Electrical 10 01-31-2008 03:15 PM
upgrading service cable Clutchcargo Electrical 1 06-22-2007 10:04 AM
Upgrading Service to 200 amps sandyman720 Electrical 6 03-30-2007 05:37 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.