Upgrading 100amp Breaker System To 200amp - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-30-2008, 01:58 PM   #1
Newbie
 
gloomis29's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Ohio
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

upgrading 100amp breaker system to 200amp


Hello, I am a 26 yr old first time homebuyer. I just had my home inspected and the inspector recommended upgrading my breaker box from 100amp system to a 200am system. The house was built 23 years ago, 2 story, 2200 sq ft. It has Fridge, Washer/Dryer, Dishwasher, electric stove, microwave, central air, natural gas furnace, electric hot water heater, 2.5 baths. Was wondering if anyone knew a ballpark figure on how much this will run me, obviously I would not do th is myself, but just need to figure out how much to budget for this, any help will be appreciated, thanks!!

Advertisement

gloomis29 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2008, 03:20 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 561
Rewards Points: 500
Default

upgrading 100amp breaker system to 200amp


Quote:
Originally Posted by gloomis29 View Post
Hello, I am a 26 yr old first time homebuyer. I just had my home inspected and the inspector recommended upgrading my breaker box from 100amp system to a 200am system. The house was built 23 years ago, 2 story, 2200 sq ft. It has Fridge, Washer/Dryer, Dishwasher, electric stove, microwave, central air, natural gas furnace, electric hot water heater, 2.5 baths. Was wondering if anyone knew a ballpark figure on how much this will run me, obviously I would not do th is myself, but just need to figure out how much to budget for this, any help will be appreciated, thanks!!
Nevermind what the inspector's opinion is. Unless you're tripping your main you probably do not need an upgrade.

There are literally millions of homes with 100a services with exactly the same appliances you have. I'd consider an upgrade only if something signifigant changes that adds to your load, like the addition of an outdoor hot tub.

I am curious as to why you'd have an electric water heater when you have natural gas available? Do you live in an area where electric rates are unusually low? Personally, I have a home similar to yours, and got by fine with 100a service. (No central a/c, but every room had a window unit.) Over the years I swapped out the electric dryer with gas, as well as the kitchen range.

Advertisement

LawnGuyLandSparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2008, 04:00 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,294
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

upgrading 100amp breaker system to 200amp


Ballpark $2000
220/221 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2008, 04:01 PM   #4
Newbie
 
gloomis29's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Ohio
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

upgrading 100amp breaker system to 200amp


Thanks for the reply, not sure about why the hot water heater is electric. It is still the original one so I am anticipating buying a new one fairly quickly. I may switch to gas but then again, the electric on this house only averages $55 per month according to the seller. I never had natural gas appliances growing up so I do not anticipate switching the stove over unless it would save me a significant amount of money.
What a relief to know I don't "have" to switch to 200a service unless we eventually add something major. It is good to hear that you have multipe AC window units and that doesn't cause you problems running a 100am system, thanks you!!
gloomis29 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2008, 04:07 PM   #5
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 5,231
Rewards Points: 2,432
Default

upgrading 100amp breaker system to 200amp


Using the optional dwelling calculation and based on what you listed and standard appliance wattages I'm getting a demand load of 96 amps so your getting real close to maxing out your dwelling service. But I would agree if you aren't experiencing any problems with the main breaker tripping there is no reason to upgrade.
Stubbie is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2008, 08:12 PM   #6
Licensed Pro
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: SC
Posts: 1,546
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

upgrading 100amp breaker system to 200amp


Look into switching your range and water heater to gas. Your gas company may even give you a rebate that will reduce the cost.
HouseHelper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2008, 08:17 PM   #7
Electrician
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Connecticut, Litchfield
Posts: 2,015
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

upgrading 100amp breaker system to 200amp


I would spend the money on gas appliances...
chris75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2008, 11:24 PM   #8
Union Electrician
 
goose134's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Chicago, USA
Posts: 615
Rewards Points: 500
Default

upgrading 100amp breaker system to 200amp


I'm always amused by the sheer number of electricians who have gas appliances (myself included). Don't feel bad about your service. I'm a professional electrician with 100 A service in his own home. Never been a problem. Now when I get whole house air...
goose134 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2008, 08:49 AM   #9
Res Ipsa Loquitur
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Southeastern PA
Posts: 363
Rewards Points: 250
Default

upgrading 100amp breaker system to 200amp


You must be getting a bargain on electric - dishwasher, fridge, washer/dryer, central air, electric range and hot water, microwave, 23 years old @ 2200 sq. ft on 2 floors and only $55 a month?

I would want to verify those bills than take the owner's statement! I have a NJ shore house basically closed for the winter except a vacation low setting gas boiler and night time security lighting and the bill is more than that for electric!
__________________
Did you ever stop to think, then forget to start again?
handyman78 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2008, 12:28 PM   #10
Newbie
 
gloomis29's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Ohio
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

upgrading 100amp breaker system to 200amp


Thanks for your responses, it is nice to know people actually answer simple questions on here and its not just various professionals talking to each other!

Handyman - I agree, I am not sure how accurate the electric bill is, the buyer is a single guy and the dryer & fridge do not work (he's taking those out when he moves obviously!) so I'm sure those will change the electric bill considerably!

Once we close on the house in about 6 weeks I will probably post some pics of the breaker box as well, thanks!
gloomis29 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2008, 04:15 PM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 561
Rewards Points: 500
Default

upgrading 100amp breaker system to 200amp


$55.00 isn't an electric bill, that's a minimum monthly service charge!

Advertisement

LawnGuyLandSparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
20 Amp Breaker tripping with GFCI panhandlion Electrical 7 12-12-2007 09:59 PM
In-line fuses used on GE 200amp panel instead of main breaker diyforum Electrical 4 11-07-2007 08:08 PM
Breaker Buzz SkipI Electrical 2 07-13-2007 08:48 PM
100amps meter with 200amp breaker box? Snooker Electrical 3 04-15-2007 02:39 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts