Upgraded Larger Insulator - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-12-2011, 05:18 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 137
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Upgraded larger insulator


Our local hydro company (Hydro One Ontario) just replaced/ upgraded the insulators on our poles along our country road... What will this do for us?

Just wondering why it was done.

Thx

Advertisement

fjacky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2011, 02:29 PM   #2
Semi-Pro Electro-Geek
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Arizona, USA
Posts: 2,569
Rewards Points: 2,034
Default

Upgraded larger insulator


You won't notice anything. They might be changing system voltages.

Advertisement

mpoulton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2011, 04:53 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 6,974
Rewards Points: 2,044
Default

Upgraded larger insulator


This is done for the purpose if raising the voltage on the wires attached to the insulators. The lines at the top of the pole are medium tension, usually around 7000-8000 volts to ground but could be as low as 2400 and as high as 30,000. Larger insulators are needed so higher voltages don't jump across to metal or rain-soaked wood framework underneath.

Raising the voltage allows the same wire to carry much more energy (in watts). It will stilil carry the same number of amperes as before for a given allowable voltage drop (representing energy waste) in actual volts. It will carry more amperes as well as the increased voltage for a given allowable voltage drop in percentage of volts, limited by how hot the wire is allowed to get as a result of current passing through it. The energy lost in any section of wire is watts equal to the number of amperes flowing times itself times the resistance of that section aka the number of amperes flowing times the number of volts dropped in that section (the number of volts we start out with does not matter).

Most likely the changeover will cause a brief outage for each customer as each pole transformer is exchanged (if not already) for one that takes both the old voltage and the new voltage, and another brief outage when all the transformers are disconnected, the voltage increased, and all the transformers reconnected using different "taps" so the output voltage (120/240) stays the same. There may or may not be another brief outage when the dual voltage transformer is swapped again for a single higher voltage transformer and the dual voltage transformer is available to be used someplace else for a voltage upgrade.
__________________
Forget super sized fries. The Washington Redskins could promote healthy eating with First Lady Obama by choosing a (red skinned) turnip for a mascot.

Last edited by AllanJ; 04-13-2011 at 05:09 PM.
AllanJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2011, 06:59 PM   #4
Wire Chewer
 
Red Squirrel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 3,221
Rewards Points: 2,020
Default

Upgraded larger insulator


You'll only notice if they forget to swap out your transformer. Your lights will be viewable from the international space station, toast will be done in 0.3 seconds, the microwave will cause all planes in a 50 mile radius to lose communication and it will start to smell funny.

It could also be basic maintenance, maybe those insulators were very old and were due for replacement.
Red Squirrel is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
larger door opening RM POWELL Carpentry 4 09-21-2010 05:51 PM
Larger ceramic tile on drywall? HABSFAN2006 Drywall & Plaster 8 05-29-2009 04:24 PM
How to Cover 1" and larger knockouts? theatretch85 Electrical 11 12-24-2008 03:34 PM
Larger hole in foundation jamiedolan Building & Construction 5 10-02-2008 12:04 PM
Adding Larger electrical Box Bigbobdallas Electrical 1 11-06-2007 02:02 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts