Upgrade Or Rewire - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-29-2010, 07:52 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 14
Rewards Points: 10
Question

Upgrade or rewire


We don't plan on DIY for this since we know NOTHING about electrical, but thought you guys might be able to give your opinion.

This is the problem in a nutshell...

Old house.
Lights always have flickered.
Can't seem to handle everything we have running (ie window air conditioners) as outlets seem to flicker on and off when some things (like dryer or washer are cycling), and upper floor blew a fuse last week when the kids plugged in too many things.


Ideally we probably need to rewire the entire house, but that isn't in the budget (I have heard it can cost $10000 - $30,000 - is the correct??)
Could it be that it needs to be upgraded too 200 amp? Whats involved with that? Do you need to rewire to have that done?

Any advice you can give so that I make sure I make an informed decision when the electricians come here to give me an estimate would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks!

Advertisement

Lexiesmom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2010, 10:23 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 270
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Upgrade or rewire


There are two different issues here. An upgrade to 200 amps is a service upgrade and you may or may not need it depending on what you have for service now, the condition of your panel, and what your electrical demand is. As far as the circuits going throughout the house that depends on the condition of the wiring as to what needs to be replaced. A whole house rewiring might be in order if you have very old wiring such as knob and tube or very old cable. It is impossible for anyone to give you advise on cost without seeing the job. A total rewire can be easy or difficult depending on your type of house and framing. Your best bet is to call several electricians and get estimates.

Advertisement

teamo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2010, 10:28 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Upgrade or rewire


Flickering could be a loose neutral & needs to be fixed
Or do the lights flicker when the AC or other heavy load kicks in ?
That might be just being on the same circuit

Where are you located ?
What size service do you have ? 60a. 100a ?
Is it actually fuses...or do you have breakers ?

What do you have for electric loads ?
Dryer, stove, hot water, heat ....or ?
Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2010, 11:02 AM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 14
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Upgrade or rewire


Quote:
Originally Posted by Scuba_Dave View Post
Flickering could be a loose neutral & needs to be fixed
Or do the lights flicker when the AC or other heavy load kicks in ? It seams to be when something else is turned on.
That might be just being on the same circuit

Where are you located ? Ontario, Canada
What size service do you have ? 60a. 100a ? I'm not sure.
Is it actually fuses...or do you have breakers ? Breakers

What do you have for electric loads ?
Dryer, stove, hot water, heat ....or ?
stove, fridge, computer, tv's, fans, window air conditioners (4 in total, but normally only 2 are running at once)
Thanks for your help!
Lexiesmom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2010, 09:21 AM   #5
the Musigician
 
DangerMouse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: I'm right here!
Posts: 10,404
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Upgrade or rewire


It still wouldn't hurt to cut the power and go through the panel and tighten anything that may need it.

"Couldn't hoit! woowoowoowoo! Hey Moe!"

DM
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]Click here to see some of my original magic tricks and trick boxes!
DangerMouse is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Old House Rewire finnimus Electrical 15 05-13-2011 11:39 PM
house power supply upgrade in Australia pcd1965 Electrical 3 08-22-2009 09:17 PM
400 Amp Upgrade / Transfer Switch AndrewF Electrical 50 07-04-2009 08:33 PM
Can I upgrade my main panel? MarkinTexas Electrical 8 01-22-2009 11:15 AM
Upgrade Meter Box Help BenJoeM Electrical 10 10-24-2008 11:58 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts