Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-27-2009, 12:22 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: nc.
Posts: 13
Share |
Default

upfront


I have a dewalt power shop from my father-in law. It is old but great shape. I have it in my shop. The shop is wired off a 15 amp breaker. I can dado with it but when i start to rip with it it will lose speed and shut down. Do i need to put on a differnt breaker. thanks

upfront is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2009, 05:17 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 241
Send a message via AIM to Bocolo
Default

upfront


The short answer is NO. Breaker amps are based on wire size or the other way around. If you have 12 awg wire on the circuit you can then put a 20 amp breaker. By code your 15 amp breaker should be using 14 awg wire. You can rewire the circuit with 12/2 and then change your breaker to 20 amps. You might be overworking your Dewalt. Post more details about the tool and some of the other guys here will be able to help you out.

Bocolo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2009, 09:50 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3,503
Default

upfront


A shop of any size should have more capacity than 15 amp in most every case. What is this shop? Is it attached to the house?
J. V. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2009, 11:23 AM   #4
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,747
Default

upfront


If the breaker is not tripping, then the problem may be the saw.
Does it slow down or stop?
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2009, 11:53 AM   #5
Member
 
47_47's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Springville, NY
Posts: 1,449
Default

upfront


It could also be you're using the wrong blade for ripping, the cut is binding, wet wood... More details are needed.
__________________
What we've got here is... failure to communicate. Some men you just can't reach. So you get what we had here last week, which is the way he wants it... well, he gets it.
47_47 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2009, 12:24 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NW of D.C.
Posts: 5,990
Default

upfront


Quote:
Originally Posted by 47_47 View Post
It could also be you're using the wrong blade for ripping, the cut is binding, wet wood... More details are needed.
If dadoing pulls more current than ripping then I
doubt it's the breaker.
Yoyizit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2009, 01:18 PM   #7
Member
 
47_47's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Springville, NY
Posts: 1,449
Default

upfront


Quote:
Originally Posted by Yoyizit View Post
If dadoing pulls more current than ripping then I
doubt it's the breaker.
I've never had a reason to measure the current draw between the two, but I think the motor is slowing / stalling by the op's procedures.
__________________
What we've got here is... failure to communicate. Some men you just can't reach. So you get what we had here last week, which is the way he wants it... well, he gets it.
47_47 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2009, 02:15 PM   #8
the Musigician
 
DangerMouse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: I'm right here!
Posts: 10,404
Default

upfront


dull blade? needs new brushes?

DM
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]Click here to see some of my original magic tricks and trick boxes!
DangerMouse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2009, 10:46 PM   #9
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: nc.
Posts: 13
Smile

upfront


Quote:
Originally Posted by Bocolo View Post
The short answer is NO. Breaker amps are based on wire size or the other way around. If you have 12 awg wire on the circuit you can then put a 20 amp breaker. By code your 15 amp breaker should be using 14 awg wire. You can rewire the circuit with 12/2 and then change your breaker to 20 amps. You might be overworking your Dewalt. Post more details about the tool and some of the other guys here will be able to help you out.
upfront is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2009, 10:48 PM   #10
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: nc.
Posts: 13
Default

upfront


I was lookin at he book and it says to use a in lin 30 amp fuse what ever that means a a wir no smaller than a 12 thanks
upfront is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2009, 11:00 AM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NW of D.C.
Posts: 5,990
Default

upfront


Quote:
Originally Posted by upfront View Post
I was lookin at he book and it says to use a in lin 30 amp fuse what ever that means a a wir no smaller than a 12 thanks
http://www.wholesalemarine.com/mm5/g...0553-1_med.jpg

You should probably use a slow blow fuse for this application; ask the saw manuf. for a recommended fuse part number.
Yoyizit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2009, 08:42 PM   #12
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: nc.
Posts: 13
Default

upfront


Quote:
Originally Posted by upfront View Post
i posted before about the dewalt power shop .Here is some moore info. about it. hp 1.5 amp14/7 volts 120/240 rpm 3600 cy 60.I said it bogs down when i try to rip with it and shuts down,can dado all right. Have 15 breaker to shop. Question is should i use a 20 or 30 breaker for it? The book says to use a inline 30 amp fuse for it. thanks
upfront is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2009, 09:29 PM   #13
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,810
Default

upfront


Quote:
Originally Posted by upfront View Post
Question is should i use a 20 or 30 breaker for it? The book says to use a inline 30 amp fuse for it. thanks
This question has been answered already.
NO, you cannot simply use a larger breaker.

Please answer some of the questions that have been asked.
Is the shop attached to detached from the house?

Any other circuits in there? Do you know what size wire is run?
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2009, 09:42 PM   #14
Idiot Emeritus
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Fernley, Nevada (near Reno)
Posts: 1,596
Default

upfront


Ripping with a circular saw likely takes more power than dadoing, plus ripping takes a longer time.

When the saw shuts down, does it trip the 15 amp breaker, or the overload built into the motor?

A 15 amp circuit is too small for this saw. It'll work OK until the saw is loaded for a long time, like while ripping. A 20 amp breaker with #12 wire would be OK, if it's not over about 50' from the panel.

If possible, run a new circuit from the panel, #14 is OK, use a two-pole 15 amp breaker, and re-connect the motor for 240 volts. You'll need to replace the plug on the cord with a 15 amp 250 volt one, and install a similar receptacle. You'll be absolutely amazed at the difference in cutting power.

Rob

P.S. If the wire is #14, the maximum breaker size is 15, If it's #12, 20 amp is max. A 30 amp breaker needs #10 wire. Any voltage. One of the very few exceptions to this is a permanently connected (hard-wired) motor, not cord-and-plug. Even if this saw were hard-wired, #14 is too small for 120 volts. It'd be OK for 240 volts though.
micromind is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2009, 10:04 PM   #15
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 780
Default

upfront


If the breaker is not tripping then changing the breaker or rewiring for 240v will accomplish nothing. I agree with 47 47 it sounds like you are useing the wrong type, dull, or cheap blade or you are feeding to fast when ripping.
Jack

hayewe farm is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.