Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-18-2008, 08:59 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 2
Share |
Default

unwanted voltage on coax


upon completing a satellite tv installation , as I went to cut the ground wire coming from the coax ground block, I had a large arc when my cutters also touched the weatherhead. I then got my voltage tester and the coax read 110 volts. I plugged the receiver into a couple other outlets and got a reading of about 50 volts. This is a real old house with only hot and neutral wiring and round screw in fuses. I know we need a electrican but what is the probable cause of this?

sat-man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2008, 10:34 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Apple Valley, MN, USA
Posts: 995
Send a message via AIM to theatretch85
Default

unwanted voltage on coax


Ok, first of all, why were you going to cut the ground wire? The ground wire is there for a reason! Second, take a look at the following thread, someone else had a similar issue with finding power on the coax cable.....

Cable issue or wiring issue?

theatretch85 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2008, 04:47 AM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 2
Default

unwanted voltage on coax


I was cutting it from my spool to attach it to the service ground to complete the installation. I read the other thread , I think I will print it off and give it to the homeowner to give to their electrican. As of now they are using the satellite system with it plugged into a outlet that causes the coax to read 50 volts instead of the outlet right behind the tv which causes the coax to read 110 volts. And the coax ground wire is not hooked up. When it was plugged up behind the tv was when I ruined two satellite lnbs and I could have died.

Last edited by sat-man; 09-19-2008 at 06:17 AM.
sat-man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2008, 07:31 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Iowa
Posts: 1,543
Default

unwanted voltage on coax


Ah, it sounds like a possible loose neutral...the return current has nowhere to go but ground.... this mostly happens on newer panels, with a ground block...
rgsgww is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2008, 07:36 AM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Apple Valley, MN, USA
Posts: 995
Send a message via AIM to theatretch85
Default

unwanted voltage on coax


This was the end result in the thread mentioned above:

Quote:
Originally Posted by Duchey View Post
Wow, took me a while to digg this one back up.
I cornered the LL a few days ago and finally got him to give me the whole story. Apparently the ground had been wired hot the whole time. He said that the wires had gotten "mixed up" at the main box back when the place was re-wired.
Darn lucky the place never burnt down.
There were quite a few things several electricians and cable guys tried, each one saying it was the other ones fault/problem.
theatretch85 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Low voltage box question WShawn Electrical 7 08-19-2008 06:22 AM
2 - 900w tansformers on a 15A circuit? tonyBagadonuts Electrical 19 07-20-2008 07:15 PM
Voltage Drop Issues sushiboy Electrical 12 04-03-2008 09:01 PM
Coax cable removal or disconnect RobbC2 Electrical 3 04-14-2007 07:21 PM
Low voltage to vacuum l.schrankel@comcast.net Electrical 2 03-04-2007 09:38 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.