Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-04-2008, 05:17 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 233
Share |
Default

unused hot wire in wall


i have a hot wire that ran to a switch that i want to power with a new wire coming down from the attic. what should i do with old wire. its hot and it's on a ciruit shared with other outlets. can i just cut it, tape the end and leave it in the wall?

drewhart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2008, 05:20 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Iowa
Posts: 1,543
Default

unused hot wire in wall


Quote:
Originally Posted by drewhart View Post
i have a hot wire that ran to a switch that i want to power with a new wire coming down from the attic. what should i do with old wire. its hot and it's on a ciruit shared with other outlets. can i just cut it, tape the end and leave it in the wall?

Nope, you can terminate it in the box that you are using for the switch.

Or you can disconnect it at both ends and leave it dead in the wall tagged with "abandoned in place"

You might burn your house down the way you suggested...

rgsgww is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2008, 07:05 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 233
Default

unused hot wire in wall


should i terminate it by twisting a wire connector around it?
drewhart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2008, 07:37 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,294
Default

unused hot wire in wall


To be code compliant you need to terminate it in an accessible, covered j box.


I'd tell you how to do it safely without a box but I don't want to start a whole thing.
220/221 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2008, 07:46 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Iowa
Posts: 1,543
Default

unused hot wire in wall


You said you were running new wire to the original box? just leave the old one in the box and put wire nuts on it.
rgsgww is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2008, 08:13 AM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 233
Default

unused hot wire in wall


should i just use the old wire? they are knob and tube. the new wire is romex.
drewhart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2008, 10:10 AM   #7
Res Ipsa Loquitur
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Southeastern PA
Posts: 363
Default

unused hot wire in wall


I would replace any knob & tube anywhere I could- the covering/insulation on that wire doesn't have the quality of romex bought today.
__________________
Did you ever stop to think, then forget to start again?
handyman78 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2008, 11:11 AM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Iowa
Posts: 1,543
Default

unused hot wire in wall


Quote:
Originally Posted by drewhart View Post
should i just use the old wire? they are knob and tube. the new wire is romex.

Just cut the old wires at BOTH ends. You can leave DEAD lines in the wall.

rgsgww is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
installing wall box programmable timer rasta Electrical 8 11-12-2008 08:36 AM
How to diagnose problems with wall kahlan General DIY Discussions 5 10-22-2008 09:18 AM
exposed brick wall Jrr1099 Carpentry 1 03-25-2008 02:45 PM
This is not a load-bearing wall, right? AllGoNoShow Building & Construction 4 01-07-2007 03:49 PM
Wall Switch sue Electrical 4 02-06-2005 07:05 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.