Unused Cable - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-04-2011, 01:40 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 15
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Unused cable


I have a cable running to the front yard where I believe at one point there may have been a light post. I want to cut the cable (after turning off the power) where it leaves the house and leave the house portion in place (it disappears behind siding). I believe this would be acceptable if I cap off the wire ends with wire nuts. Is this feasible and safe?

Thanks in advance.

Advertisement

neamb2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2011, 01:50 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: WV
Posts: 3,026
Rewards Points: 2,232
Default

Unused cable


You really should figure out where in your panel that cable goes and disconnect it.

Advertisement

md2lgyk is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to md2lgyk For This Useful Post:
neamb2 (05-04-2011)
Old 05-04-2011, 02:02 PM   #3
I=E/R
 
a7ecorsair's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,052
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Unused cable


You need to find the point of connection inside the house and disconnect it there. Is there a switch box close to were it enters the siding?
a7ecorsair is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to a7ecorsair For This Useful Post:
neamb2 (05-04-2011)
Old 05-04-2011, 02:24 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 15
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Unused cable


Thanks for the answer. The cable goes behind the siding and probably enters the house soon after...there is a 3-switch box inside near the front door, and one switch does not seem to control any light or outlet, so it MAY be the control for this long-buried mystery cable. I'm somewhat of a novice, so I don't know how to verify this (I have a voltmeter and thought about cutting the wire and testing for power with the 3rd switch on and off).

Let me ask a novice question for my own education: what is the risk/danger if I simply capped the wires?

Thanks again.
neamb2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2011, 02:41 PM   #5
Scared Electrician
 
Saturday Cowboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Colorado
Posts: 715
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Unused cable


well any "capping" of hot wires needs be done in a jbox! to do it any other way is to risk those wire nuts coming off and it not being in side a protective box, only serves to make it more likely and to make sure that it zaps some one or something or starts a fire.

Therefore it would be far easier to use an existing switch box to make our disconnect.
__________________
Ragged Trousered Philanthropist


Please follow the code - its there for your safety no matter how inconvenient.
Saturday Cowboy is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Saturday Cowboy For This Useful Post:
neamb2 (05-04-2011)
Old 05-04-2011, 02:47 PM   #6
Scared Electrician
 
Saturday Cowboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Colorado
Posts: 715
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Unused cable


take apart your switch box with its power removed. This switch that does nothing is a good place to start. there will be two black wires on it. one of these wires will go directly to a cable, this cable is likely to go outside. disconnect both the black and white of this cable from any others, careful to remember how it goes back together if needed. wire nut these two wires together with a wire nut. go out side to the supposed other end of the cable and use the continuity function of your meter to test between the black and white. with them connected inside you should have a short.
__________________
Ragged Trousered Philanthropist


Please follow the code - its there for your safety no matter how inconvenient.
Saturday Cowboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2011, 03:06 PM   #7
I ask the impossible!
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Royal Oak, Michigan
Posts: 1,074
Rewards Points: 508
Blog Entries: 7
Default

Unused cable


Caps could fall off, heat up from arcing, if they're in contact with whatever it could ignite.

You would be requred to cap the wires inside a junction box and have a cover on the box and the box be accessible.

Or if t's powered from a switch, you could disconnect the wire at the switch, take off the switch and wire nut those wires. You'd have to come up with a cover that blanks that space.
__________________
Please do NOT consider any "before" picture of my house as any kind of endorsement of any particular construction method. In fact, you should probably assume that if I post a "before" picture, I am posting it because I am soliciting advice on a proper replacement for one of MANY things done wrong by a previous owner.
WillK is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to WillK For This Useful Post:
neamb2 (05-04-2011)
Old 05-04-2011, 08:24 PM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 15
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Unused cable


Thank you! I will search for the cable end in the next day or two and do as suggested.

Advertisement

neamb2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Re-route dryer electric cable Stu27 Electrical 10 09-06-2010 09:21 PM
Effects of electrician tape on cable richard7994 Electrical 4 08-11-2010 09:39 AM
Terminating an unused cable acerunner Electrical 6 03-24-2010 06:32 PM
Cable question tommy_vercetti Home Theater 15 09-26-2009 10:10 AM
Coaxial Cable Question bahaisamurai Home Theater 9 08-08-2007 03:54 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts