Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-17-2007, 09:10 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 8
Share |
Default

Unreliable Receptacle


Hi everyone,

I have an unusual (maybe) problem I was hoping for some insight on...

I have a 20a wall outlet that serves my refrigerator. I moved it a few years ago when I cheated a kitchen wall back a couple feet by creating a junction box in the crawl space and extending my feed a few feet to meet the new wall.

Everything was fine until last week. My refrigerator (~20 years old) started getting intermittent power. I assumed my old fridge was dying and went ahead and bought a newer more energy efficient model and hooked it up- it wasn't on for five minutes when it stopped working. I finally wised up and tested the plug only to discover no juice.

Somehow, that plug is getting intermittent power. No circuits are tripping, no fuses are blown. I haven't had any juice in the plug for the last few hours, but I know for a fact it had juice when I plugged my fridge in and before.

I followed the line back and it looks like it just goes into the wall to the circuit breaker (hopefully connected to the 20amp fuse, but I'm not really sure).

I'm at a loss and was hoping for some insight. It may well require professional help, but I'd like to know exactly what the problem is before I start shopping for electricians.

My place was built in '53, two-wire with a 60amp service. My AC is pulled from a new service panel a year and a half ago.

I don't know if any of that information is relevant or not.

Thanks for taking the time to read this long post.

Turnip is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2007, 09:44 PM   #2
Union HVAC Tech.
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 607
Default

Unreliable Receptacle


Are you checking power at the outlet face or at the wires on the screw terminals? If you have no power on the wires, look at the splices in your junction box first. Also don't assume the neutral wire is ok, it maybe the problem.

bigMikeB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2007, 05:12 AM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 8
Default

Unreliable Receptacle


I tested for voltage at the screw terminals...

I have the least experience w/ electric... what do you mean don't assume the neutral is ok?
Turnip is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2007, 08:27 AM   #4
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,675
Default

Unreliable Receptacle


Check the connection in the jbox in the crawl space.
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Post mounted electrical receptacle NIlRO Electrical 13 04-19-2010 02:20 PM
Receptacle broken mwagner Electrical 10 05-25-2007 07:41 AM
Split Receptacle on 3-Way Circuit NPS Electrical 6 11-03-2005 09:28 AM
20A or 15A receptacle ejlog Electrical 3 02-21-2005 06:29 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.