Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 12-31-2008, 01:06 PM   #1

Share |

Unisaw wiring problem

Greetings all! I'm an amateur woodworker and purchased a used Unisaw that dates to around 1970. The saw has a 2hp, single phase, 115v(24a)/230v(12a) Delta(Baldor) motor, an original low voltage controller, and an original magnetic push button switch. I had an electrician configure the motor and lvc for 115v and install a new plug, receptacle, and 30a single pole breaker. Tried it and got absolutely nothing. I asked the electrician about it and he told me that itís probably the motor. Brought the entire saw to motor shop #1(big mistake) and wound up paying $150 for him to take off the motor, take it apart and give it back to me. Told me the motor needed all kinds of work, etc. It looked very good to me so I brought it to the second motor shop and he said it looked fine, put it together, and told me it runs fine. I brought it back home and examined the lvc closely. The wire from the switch to the lvc was bad so I replaced that. All the wiring in the lvc seems be exactly like the schematic and the condition of the unit appears good. I rewired everything as it should be andÖ..nothing. Here is where I have questions. I have a 3 phase service in my building so is this a problem with the single phase motor? From the motor, there is a group of 3 wires and a group of two wires. Iím assuming that the 3 wire group is the hot and the two wire group is the neutral. Iím at a loss and would like to restore the machine with original components. I can take pictures as well. Thanks in advance!!

dgr68 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2008, 02:38 PM   #2

Unisaw wiring problem

http://s716.photobucket.com/albums/ww167/dgr68/

Old 01-01-2009, 01:36 PM   #3
Idiot Emeritus

Unisaw wiring problem