Ungrounded Outlets - Electrical - Page 2 - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-29-2012, 03:36 PM   #16
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 481
Rewards Points: 320
Default

Ungrounded outlets


Quote:
Originally Posted by parman View Post
This method is a NEC code accepted method of using 3prong receptacles without a grounding conductor.

But this will NOT make the inspector's tester say the outlets downstream are grounded right? I bought the same tester and I want to go around the house and do the same things he will do again.

Advertisement

crescere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2012, 03:42 PM   #17
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 89
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Ungrounded outlets


Quote:
Originally Posted by crescere View Post
But this will NOT make the inspector's tester say the outlets downstream are grounded right? I bought the same tester and I want to go around the house and do the same things he will do again.
Honestly, I am not sure. I have never tested a receptacle that was fed from the load side of a GFI to see if it reads ground.

My educated answer is no, it will not make the inspectors tester say the outlets downstream are grounded.

As I said earlier, that does not matter if you have a NEC approved method of using 3-prong receptacles on an ungrounded circuit. (unless there is a local ordinance against this).
parman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2012, 03:49 PM   #18
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 8,047
Rewards Points: 2,892
Default

Ungrounded outlets


Adding GFI protection upstream of a 3 prong receptacle will not provide or show as grounded. A three lite tester will not trip the upstream GFI either.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Jim Port For This Useful Post:
jbfan (08-29-2012), stickboy1375 (08-29-2012)
Old 08-29-2012, 06:27 PM   #19
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 5,164
Rewards Points: 2,120
Default

Ungrounded outlets


Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim Port View Post
Adding GFI protection upstream of a 3 prong receptacle will not provide or show as grounded. A three lite tester will not trip the upstream GFI either.
And this will surely get written up on most if not all H-I reports.

Advertisement

stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Best way to upgrade ungrounded outlets to grounded? mikemcd Electrical 5 09-12-2011 10:58 PM
Supplemental Outlets in 1950's House Perry401 Electrical 2 05-01-2011 09:49 PM
Ungrounded outlets white29 Electrical 2 05-31-2010 03:31 PM
Ungrounded outlets RJ75 Electrical 13 04-05-2009 07:51 PM
apartment: 3-pronged, ungrounded outlets pro_DIYer Electrical 9 10-15-2008 05:22 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts