Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-30-2009, 08:07 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Question

Understanding Circuit Pannel and Single Pole vs. Double Pole circuit brakers


I have a 100amp GE circuit braker service.
At the bottom of the pannel shown on the diaghram, I can use slim type circuit breakers. But those two buttom positions are now occupied by double pole circuit breakers (One for AC Handler and the other one for the AC outside, 15 and 30 AMPS respectively). My question is. Can I re-install these two buttom breakers up to slots the ones that do not accept thin type breakers? or does those breakers need to stay where they are for some reason?.

grisha_1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2009, 09:33 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Pennsylvania, USA
Posts: 272
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Understanding Circuit Pannel and Single Pole vs. Double Pole circuit brakers


What is the model number of your panel?

__________________
Willis
williswires is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2009, 10:51 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Wink

Understanding Circuit Pannel and Single Pole vs. Double Pole circuit brakers


It's GE TM1610S
grisha_1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2009, 10:52 PM   #4
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 5,042
Rewards Points: 2,054
Default

Understanding Circuit Pannel and Single Pole vs. Double Pole circuit brakers


Quote:
Originally Posted by grisha_1 View Post
I have a 100amp GE circuit braker service.
At the bottom of the pannel shown on the diaghram, I can use slim type circuit breakers. But those two buttom positions are now occupied by double pole circuit breakers (One for AC Handler and the other one for the AC outside, 15 and 30 AMPS respectively). My question is. Can I re-install these two buttom breakers up to slots the ones that do not accept thin type breakers? or does those breakers need to stay where they are for some reason?.
Maybe....it depends on whether the double pole breakers are THQP's or THQL's. If they are THQL's full space double poles then yes they will move anywhere in the panel. If they are two slim 1/2" handle tied THQP's they cannot be installed on a bus stab that does not have side tabs. Look at the image below.....

THQP

THQL

The image below should be similar to your panel. Notice the side tabs on the bus bars and the two upper bus stabs that do not have them. 1/2" THQP's install on the stabs with side tabs. They will not fit on the two upper bus stabs. But full size 1 " THQL's will install anywhere in the panel. A double pole 1/2" THQP must contact two tabs on different bus stabs, so the panel below will take 8 double pole THQP's.
Attached Thumbnails
Understanding Circuit Pannel and Single Pole vs. Double Pole circuit brakers-ge-100-amp.jpg  
__________________
" One nice thing about the NEC articles ... you have lots of choices"

Stubbie

Last edited by Stubbie; 01-30-2009 at 11:00 PM.
Stubbie is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2009, 07:40 AM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Understanding Circuit Pannel and Single Pole vs. Double Pole circuit brakers


Thanks a lot Stubbie... That's the answer I was looking for...
grisha_1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
circuit breakers


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.