Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-26-2010, 02:20 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 23
Share |
Default

Understanding circuit box limitations


I am in the process of planning a bathroom remodel and am considering having a jetted Jacuzzi bathtub put it. As I understand the code requirements a separate 20A circuit must be run to the bathroom for the pump. My question is how do I tell if my circuit board can handle another line? It's a Square D and the only number I can find is QoC40U which I think is just the door model designating the 40 spots on the boards. Only 22 are filled and 18 are blank so it would seem there would be no problem, but are there enough amps available on the board? The main shutoff switch says 200 on it, but when I add up the individual circuits they total 265A for 110v circuits and on the bottom 110A for 220v circuits for the kitchen range, AC compressor and clothes dryer. How do you calculate what the max amps your circuit board can handle? Thanks guys.

JasonNY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2010, 06:17 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Wilmington, DE
Posts: 3,116
Default

Understanding circuit box limitations


If you have 18 empty breaker slots, adding a 20A circuit is a can do. Figuring the actual allowable power from a panel gets complicated, but the total amps on the breakers almost always is more than the main breaker. In reality, you rarely actually have everything on at one time. And there may be 15 or 20A circuits with very little actual load.

Just Bill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2010, 06:50 AM   #3
Just call me Andrew
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Albany, NY
Posts: 2,252
Default

Understanding circuit box limitations


You are fine. There's no such thing as amps "available on the board". As long as the used current does not exceed 200 Amps, the main breaker will not trip. The breaker box can handle max 200 amps, but you would have to do a whole-house load calc to figure out what you're actually using. Most houses use nowhere near 200 amps, so you are probably fine.
__________________
Andrew

secutanudu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2010, 10:11 AM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 23
Default

Understanding circuit box limitations


thanks guys
JasonNY is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Changing a 3 way circuit...using recessed lighting box as a junction box? Oxymoron Electrical 1 12-07-2009 06:46 PM
Two Different Wire gages on Same Circuit OK? Lovegasoline Electrical 5 12-02-2009 05:00 PM
Switch triggering GFCI breaker on a DIFFERENT circuit stillmarried Electrical 5 11-29-2009 09:14 PM
Understanding Circuit Pannel and Single Pole vs. Double Pole circuit brakers grisha_1 Electrical 4 01-31-2009 07:40 AM
Circuit out but circuit breaker didn't trip PaulenAndrew Electrical 17 08-16-2008 08:38 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.