Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-09-2011, 05:28 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 1
Share |
Default

underground wiring for distances


I have a temp hydro tower in at my lot line, but my house and garage are 450 to 500 ft from this hydro tower. What do I need in terms of underground wire size to take me to my garage where I am going to have my main box (I plan on having a welder and various tools there) and from there to a 100 amp circuit in a house I am building. How deep do I have to dig my trench and should I encase the wiring in PVC?

ClarenceD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2011, 06:33 PM   #2
DIY Hack
 
Mr Chips's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Location, Location
Posts: 1,302
Default

underground wiring for distances


Quote:
Originally Posted by ClarenceD View Post
I have a temp hydro tower in at my lot line, but my house and garage are 450 to 500 ft from this hydro tower. What do I need in terms of underground wire size to take me to my garage where I am going to have my main box (I plan on having a welder and various tools there) and from there to a 100 amp circuit in a house I am building. How deep do I have to dig my trench and should I encase the wiring in PVC?
here is a calculator to figure out length. Bury depth is directly related to whether or not you are using PVC and may vary by local code

__________________
Those who can, do...
Those who can't criticize on the internet
Mr Chips is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Mr Chips For This Useful Post:
ClarenceD (01-10-2011)
Old 01-09-2011, 07:58 PM   #3
Scared Electrician
 
Saturday Cowboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Colorado
Posts: 715
Default

underground wiring for distances


what is a hydro tower?
__________________
Ragged Trousered Philanthropist


Please follow the code - its there for your safety no matter how inconvenient.
Saturday Cowboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2011, 08:04 PM   #4
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,831
Default

underground wiring for distances


Quote:
Originally Posted by Saturday Cowboy View Post
what is a hydro tower?
I think it must be a transformer or distribution point.
brric is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2011, 09:12 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 440
Default

underground wiring for distances


he is in canada.power pole.
oleguy74 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2011, 10:04 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 6,932
Default

underground wiring for distances


Several utility companies have "Hydroelectric" in their names. But I have not heard of a pole referred to as an edison tower given that several other utility companies have "Edison" in their names e.g. Boston Edison (now NSTAR) and Consolidated Edison or Con-Ed.

When you mentioned tower I did not think any customer is hooked up at a metal high tension transmission line tower.

You may need to have a medium tension (distribution voltage; primary voltage) line brought onto your property to perhaps 50 feet from the house and a transformer installed there. Then run the 120/240 volt line to your house and garage.

Running 120/240 for 200 amps the full 500 feet requires mighty fat wires. The calculator gave me 750 mmca (square millimeters cross section?) copper wire. 750 sq. mm is slightly more than one inch square.

At distribution voltage (typically 7000 to 15000 volts) your up to 200 amps @ 240 volt household draw is less than 8 amps. The power company probably has a minimum wire size, say, 8 gauge, that it will string on poles or through a trench. If you dig the trench yourself, of course the amount the POCO will charge you for the hookup will be less.

__________________
Stop wasting time re-adjusting the pattern. Have several lawn sprinklers, one for each pattern.

Last edited by AllanJ; 01-10-2011 at 08:13 AM.
AllanJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
underground wiring Darnoldi Electrical 2 11-08-2010 10:51 PM
All wiring underground, yet power outage...? PCMLR Electrical 2 10-10-2010 10:20 PM
Underground Wiring From House to Garage Virginhomeowner Electrical 7 05-21-2010 10:53 PM
Outbuilding wiring and underground wiring questions tpagel Electrical 7 07-08-2008 08:38 AM
'Underground Wiring And Code. michaeltz Electrical 16 12-05-2005 07:58 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.