Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-17-2005, 07:47 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 6
Rewards Points: 10
Default

'Underground Wiring And Code.


Hi there.
I am going to have a garage that is 250 feet away from my house receive power via underground wiring. My electician wants to run galvanized piping from the house to the garage.
Yet, I read on-line that "gray conduit piping" is the way to go.
He will use a trenching machine to run the piping and wire down about 1 foot.

Can I please get a professional opinion on this. Does his plan sound okay? Is it according to code? Is it better to do it with the gray pvc instead?

Thank you very much!

michaeltz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2005, 09:08 PM   #2
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,859
Rewards Points: 2,114
Default

'Underground Wiring And Code.


Are you getting this inspected? 250' is a long way. What type of power are you needing out there? I would not use galvanized, but that is his choice. You do want to seperate the phone from the power wiring. What size is wanting to use? What size wire is he putting in.

__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2005, 09:45 PM   #3
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,858
Rewards Points: 2,020
Default

'Underground Wiring And Code.


IMO he is out of his mind for even considering rigid steel for 250'!
The only answer could be that he cannot get the required 18" depth. Even so, the steel will break the bank.
Find a way to dig deeper.
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2005, 09:58 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 6
Rewards Points: 10
Default

'Underground Wiring And Code.


I am not sure how well he knows his job - that is why I am here. I appreciate the feedback from you guys.

Back to the project:
I will have two 10 amp freezers, 5 interior lights, one electric garage door, 3 exterior lights, and six plugs. As for the wire I believe he said 60 amps.

How deep should he go with the pipe(18" like you said)?

I take it that you both believe gray PVC is the way to go?

Why should the electric and phone be seperate? Do you mean they should be in seperate piping/tubing? Please explain.

Also, what would you charge for a job like this - I will rent the machine and do the trenching before hand.

As for the inspection - I am not planning on it unless I have to but more than anything I want to make sure it is okay if needed. Although I do want to hear what you are thinking.

Thanks!

Last edited by michaeltz; 11-17-2005 at 10:01 PM.
michaeltz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2005, 10:23 PM   #5
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,859
Rewards Points: 2,114
Default

'Underground Wiring And Code.


I come up with #2 THWN, 1 1/4" PVC. Just a quick guess is about$2500, if you dig the ditch. That is a long way to have to go get your steaks. Because of the distance, the wire size needs to be increased. I hope this guy has included that in his quote.

The reason to seperate phone from power is interferance on the phone lines.

What were you quoted?
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2005, 10:32 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 6
Rewards Points: 10
Default

'Underground Wiring And Code.


$2,700


Is it okay to run the phone and the cable wire together in another PVC or do they too have to be separate? Therefore 3 pvc pipes piled ontop of each other for 250 feet. ************. lol


Also, what do you think if I ran the wires myself and then have him do just the hookups.

Last edited by michaeltz; 11-17-2005 at 10:34 PM.
michaeltz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2005, 10:35 PM   #7
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,859
Rewards Points: 2,114
Default

'Underground Wiring And Code.


Cable and phone in the same conduit will work. Now just 2 pipes.
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2005, 10:51 PM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 6
Rewards Points: 10
Default

'Underground Wiring And Code.


Last question the 60 amp that he plans on running - does it sound like enough?
michaeltz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2005, 11:24 PM   #9
Member
 
jproffer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Chester, IL
Posts: 1,300
Rewards Points: 506
Default

'Underground Wiring And Code.


Hiya sparkys:D , I gotta question related to one of the OP's questions. Is it just a "good idea" to seperate the phone and power (for interference reasons), or is it a code requirement?
jproffer is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2005, 04:49 AM   #10
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 6
Rewards Points: 10
Default

'Underground Wiring And Code.


It the #2 THWN - the cable that you believe is best for the task?

Once again thank you - you really did me justice.
michaeltz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2005, 08:28 AM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: NY
Posts: 73
Rewards Points: 75
Default

'Underground Wiring And Code.


I'd also run a few Cat5 or Cat6 lines with the cable and phone. Intenet access in a garage is sexy.
Scott_K is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2005, 07:24 PM   #12
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,858
Rewards Points: 2,020
Default

'Underground Wiring And Code.


Quote:
Originally Posted by jproffer
Hiya sparkys:D , I gotta question related to one of the OP's questions. Is it just a "good idea" to seperate the phone and power (for interference reasons), or is it a code requirement?
Barring a long description as to why and any variables, it's code.
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2005, 07:24 PM   #13
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,858
Rewards Points: 2,020
Default

'Underground Wiring And Code.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Scott_K
Intenet access in a garage is sexy.
Thank you!:D
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2005, 12:04 AM   #14
Member
 
jproffer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Chester, IL
Posts: 1,300
Rewards Points: 506
Default

'Underground Wiring And Code.


Quote:
Barring a long description as to why and any variables, it's code.
I know the why..or at least I know why I wouldn't do it. I just wasn't sure if it was actually code or just a REALLLLLY good idea.

To try and summarize the "why", suppose one of the 120V conductors has a bare spot (for whatever reason), and suppose the phone line does too in the same spot (I know, alot of supposing, but theoretically it COULD happen). Then the phone line is charged with 120V which is, not only bad for the phone system, but really bad for the next poor guy that gets into the phone box, and who knows how far the 120V could go back up the line...CI at your house, the next house...the pole down the street..farther???
jproffer is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2005, 01:46 PM   #15
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 6
Rewards Points: 10
Default

'Underground Wiring And Code.


Any of you specialist familiar with:

Tray Cable
3 insulated #2 copper wires
with one ground

For Direct Burial.

What do you guys think about this?
Is this okay?

Also, can I run direct burial cable wire with it and not get interference?

Thanks!


Last edited by michaeltz; 11-30-2005 at 02:08 PM.
michaeltz is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What's code for wiring distance from end of studs? Webguy64 Electrical 2 07-17-2007 05:58 AM
Code - Framing Under 2nd Floor Bathtub austinbirdman Building & Construction 2 03-04-2007 02:14 PM
Wiring to multiple bathrooms question budde97 Electrical 2 02-17-2007 12:57 PM
Wiring Design Considerations Question tjandt Electrical 6 09-26-2006 05:44 AM
Wiring an outlet in the garden wackerjr Electrical 8 05-28-2006 08:18 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.