Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-05-2009, 01:14 PM   #1
din
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

underground wire for outdoor lights


i want to run about 200 feet of wiring underground to put up some outdoor lights around our pond and i was hoping someone could help me choose the correct wire gauge to use.
thanks,
din

din is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2009, 10:43 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Apple Valley, MN, USA
Posts: 1,002
Rewards Points: 506
Send a message via AIM to theatretch85
Default

underground wire for outdoor lights


Depends on a number of factors. What voltage will these lights run on? How many lights? What is the wattage of the bulbs you will be using in these lights? If these are line voltage (120volt) are you going to be needing outlets at some or all of these lights?

theatretch85 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2009, 08:27 AM   #3
din
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

underground wire for outdoor lights


it will be 110V and what i'll probably do is put a two-outlet receptacle near the pond where i can plug lights and whatever else i might want to plug in. i don't plan on using anything with too much wattage. right now i'm using three 50 foot extension cords plugged together and haven't had any problems.
din is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2009, 11:38 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3,508
Rewards Points: 2,004
Default

underground wire for outdoor lights


Conduit or direct burial? 200' is a fair distance and could be a factor in determining your wire size. Since you are using extension cords and they are not tripping breakers that is a good thing.


I would run #10 wire in PVC conduit to a weatherproof 4x4x"deep" box outside. Use a 20 amp single pole recept. Then you can use #12 for additional lights ect.....
The #10 wire will give you some room if you ever need it. And yes, it needs GFCI protection.
J. V. is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Finding underground electric wire for driveway lights. mitch21131 Electrical 25 09-24-2012 08:52 AM
Copper wire sizing underground 185ft run 200A service DIYALLTHETIME Electrical 5 03-04-2009 08:22 PM
hooking up dryer....bronx ny code SURFBUG Appliances 6 10-14-2008 09:41 PM
Dryer Grounding??? Traci_howdyadothat Electrical 7 05-27-2008 01:14 PM
burying wire underground amakarevic Electrical 42 03-16-2008 02:04 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.