Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-21-2010, 02:12 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 14
Share |
Default

Underground service wires cut


I bought a house that has a 60 amp service to an out building, while digging with an excavator,to inspect a wet spot in the yard, we cut the service wires to the building. Yes, I should have called the elec company first. What is the easiest way to fix this? The ground stays wet from a really small spring that seeps all the time. It is about 150 feet from the house, and has #4 wire. Would split bolts and some rubber and electric tape be enough?
Thanks for the help
Waverly

waverly guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2010, 03:13 PM   #2
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,730
Default

Underground service wires cut


NO! You need an underground splice kit, sold at the box stores.

If this is coming from your panel, then the POCO would not locate it for you.

__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2010, 03:50 PM   #3
nap
You talking to me?
 
nap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: sw mi
Posts: 5,407
Default

Underground service wires cut


and if you haven't already done so, turn off the power until it is repaired. A cut line may not trip a breaker.

one neat thing if it doesn't trip the breaker but it does contact the Earth; it makes a nice resistance heater and that spot will stay thawed all winter long.

a real expensive to run heater.
nap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2010, 04:47 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 14
Default

Underground service wires cut


The breaker is off.LOL. The wires were stretched so I will have to cut them on both ends. Then put in about a 10 inch piece. So will a shrink kit still work? Don't know much about them, but will look them up if it will.
waverly guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2010, 04:50 PM   #5
nap
You talking to me?
 
nap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: sw mi
Posts: 5,407
Default

Underground service wires cut


yes. an underground splice is legal and dependable, when installed properly.
nap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2010, 09:27 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 14
Default

Underground service wires cut


Thanks for the help, I'll look them up and get it fixed.
Waverly

waverly guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Switch Junction box has 3 sets of 3 wires. Can't get dimmer to work knockout Electrical 12 06-10-2014 12:52 AM
Can't find the wires! brianmarsh Home Theater 2 01-24-2010 07:11 AM
Unfused connectors MELTED House wires WHAT TO DO??? jamiedolan Electrical 63 02-12-2009 06:01 PM
DIY 200A main service upgrade? Philip_Soldat Electrical 54 09-07-2008 11:02 AM
2x100a sub on service main jambud Electrical 17 03-12-2008 09:31 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.