Underground Run To Outlet For Pool. LB Fitting Out Of Siding? - Electrical - Page 2 - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-25-2012, 08:51 AM   #16
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Ohio
Posts: 163
Rewards Points: 158
Default

Underground Run To Outlet For Pool. LB fitting out of siding?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim Port View Post
That is the idea. Typically the LB would be more flush to the siding.
In the post I found the photo on the person did say the LB was more flush after final install

Advertisement


Last edited by collegetry; 06-25-2012 at 08:58 AM.
collegetry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2012, 08:57 AM   #17
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Ohio
Posts: 163
Rewards Points: 158
Default

Underground Run To Outlet For Pool. LB fitting out of siding?


Let me ask another question. Say in place of the LB fitting on the outside of the house, I wanted to have an outlet at that location. Couldnt a box be installed instead of the LB, a GFI in the box, then from load of GFI run wires down out of box thru pvc conduit in the trench to the location of the pool pump outlet?

If I used an LB fitting I would just drill a hole hru siding into rim joist. But with a box, I dont think I could just attach that to vinyl siding.

What type of box could be installed on the siding?
Would a mounting block be needed?
collegetry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2012, 09:22 AM   #18
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,955
Rewards Points: 2,306
Default

Underground Run To Outlet For Pool. LB fitting out of siding?


When you mount the box on the outside, don't tighten the screws so much that they pull the siding in.
This could require longer screws.

I would not feed the gfci at the pool from the load side of the gfci at the house, but I would use 2 gfci's.
This is just my opinion, as it will work either way.
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2012, 09:32 AM   #19
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,987
Rewards Points: 2,772
Default

Underground Run To Outlet For Pool. LB fitting out of siding?


You might be able to use one of these boxes.

http://www.aifittings.com/catalog/si...aded-openings/
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2012, 10:43 AM   #20
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Ohio
Posts: 163
Rewards Points: 158
Default

Underground Run To Outlet For Pool. LB fitting out of siding?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim Port View Post
You might be able to use one of these boxes.

http://www.aifittings.com/catalog/si...aded-openings/

Thanks alot. Looks like the FS8141T for 1/2" double 4 siding is what i need.
Attached Thumbnails
Underground Run To Outlet For Pool.  LB fitting out of siding?-fs8141t.jpg  
collegetry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2012, 11:41 AM   #21
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: IL
Posts: 848
Rewards Points: 722
Default

Underground Run To Outlet For Pool. LB fitting out of siding?


OP is running conduit the entire trench. Does that mean you cannot run UF (say 14-2 UF) cable inside the conduit then? That you have to run THWN wires inside the conduit? Seams it would be easier to just pull UF cable through but I don't think NEC allows this. Does someone know for sure and possibly a code reference?
curiousB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2012, 12:19 PM   #22
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 5,161
Rewards Points: 2,114
Default

Underground Run To Outlet For Pool. LB fitting out of siding?


Quote:
Originally Posted by curiousB View Post
OP is running conduit the entire trench. Does that mean you cannot run UF (say 14-2 UF) cable inside the conduit then? That you have to run THWN wires inside the conduit? Seams it would be easier to just pull UF cable through but I don't think NEC allows this. Does someone know for sure and possibly a code reference?
Since this is a pool, he cannot use UF, he has to use THWN, with a minimum #12 awg insulated equipment ground.
stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2012, 12:24 PM   #23
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Ohio
Posts: 163
Rewards Points: 158
Default

Underground Run To Outlet For Pool. LB fitting out of siding?


Quote:
Originally Posted by stickboy1375 View Post
Since this is a pool, he cannot use UF, he has to use THWN, with a minimum #12 awg insulated equipment ground.
Thanks for this info. I was planning on using the individual wires but did not know it was required since a pool was involved.
collegetry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2012, 12:26 PM   #24
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 5,161
Rewards Points: 2,114
Default

Underground Run To Outlet For Pool. LB fitting out of siding?


If the is a permanently installed pool, you will have to keep the GFCI 10 feet from the pool, or not less than 5 feet with a single receptacle, twist lock and GFCI protected.

You will also need a general purpose receptacle 10' min, 20' maximum from the pools edge.
stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2012, 12:29 PM   #25
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 5,161
Rewards Points: 2,114
Default

Underground Run To Outlet For Pool. LB fitting out of siding?


Quote:
Originally Posted by collegetry View Post
Thanks for this info. I was planning on using the individual wires but did not know it was required since a pool was involved.
This only applies to a permanently installed pool.
stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2012, 05:38 PM   #26
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Ohio
Posts: 2,611
Rewards Points: 2,130
Default

Underground Run To Outlet For Pool. LB fitting out of siding?


Quote:
Originally Posted by stickboy1375 View Post
If the is a permanently installed pool, you will have to keep the GFCI 10 feet from the pool, or not less than 5 feet with a single receptacle, twist lock and GFCI protected.

You will also need a general purpose receptacle 10' min, 20' maximum from the pools edge.

680.22A1Receptacles that provide power for motors/pumps/loads that directly relate to the circulation and sanitation system shall be located at least 10ft from the inside walls of the pool or not less than 6ft from the inside walls of the pool IF they meet ALL of the following:
-single receptacle
-locking configuration employed
-grounding type
-have GFCI protection

680.22A3 A permananently installed pool must have at least one 125V 15 or 20 A receptacle on a gen-purpose branch circuit that is located a minimum of 6ft, but no more than 20ft, from the pool's inside wall. This receptacle must not be more than 6.5ft above the floor, platform or grade level serving the pool.
hammerlane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2012, 05:43 PM   #27
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 5,161
Rewards Points: 2,114
Default

Underground Run To Outlet For Pool. LB fitting out of siding?


Quote:
Originally Posted by hammerlane View Post
680.22A1Receptacles that provide power for motors/pumps/loads that directly relate to the circulation and sanitation system shall be located at least 10ft from the inside walls of the pool or not less than 6ft from the inside walls of the pool IF they meet ALL of the following:
-single receptacle
-locking configuration employed
-grounding type
-have GFCI protection

680.22A3 A permananently installed pool must have at least one 125V 15 or 20 A receptacle on a gen-purpose branch circuit that is located a minimum of 6ft, but no more than 20ft, from the pool's inside wall. This receptacle must not be more than 6.5ft above the floor, platform or grade level serving the pool.

The part in bold is only for the 2011 NEC, and yes, it is 6', not 5' as I stated.
stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2012, 06:34 PM   #28
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Ohio
Posts: 163
Rewards Points: 158
Default

Underground Run To Outlet For Pool. LB fitting out of siding?


Quote:
Originally Posted by hammerlane View Post
IF they meet ALL of the following:
-single receptacle
-locking configuration employed
-grounding type
-have GFCI protection
thanks for all the info but what in the world does a single locking grounding type GFI look like?
collegetry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2012, 06:38 PM   #29
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,987
Rewards Points: 2,772
Default

Underground Run To Outlet For Pool. LB fitting out of siding?


Quote:
Originally Posted by collegetry View Post
thanks for all the info but what in the world does a single locking grounding type GFI look like?
You won't find one. The pump probably comes with a regular prong plug. This is one of those areas where I wish the code and the manufacturers come come to agreement.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2012, 07:35 PM   #30
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 5,161
Rewards Points: 2,114
Default

Underground Run To Outlet For Pool. LB fitting out of siding?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim Port View Post
You won't find one. The pump probably comes with a regular prong plug. This is one of those areas where I wish the code and the manufacturers come come to agreement.
Jim, I've never seen a pump come with a cord unless it was a storable pool. And I've wired a lot of pools.

Advertisement


Last edited by stickboy1375; 06-25-2012 at 07:39 PM.
stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New siding up to existing soffit jtchavez Building & Construction 18 03-25-2012 10:48 AM
Outlet before light switch; Open Neutral? Fox Electrical 21 09-26-2010 09:38 PM
European 220V outlet "Schuko" estophile Electrical 6 08-27-2005 09:45 AM
Siding: Cement Vs. Cedar Grumpy Remodeling 5 03-19-2005 02:07 PM
Siding: Aluminum vs. Vinyl Grumpy Remodeling 1 03-19-2005 01:55 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts