Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-09-2012, 04:07 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles County
Posts: 204
Rewards Points: 150
Default

underground junction box?


Is it possible/wise to have an underground junction box? I have two storage sheds. Want to run one conduit the major distance then branch out locally. Do I need to make the connection above ground or is it possible to do something below? I'm using PVC conduit.

jackwashere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2012, 04:23 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: IL
Posts: 734
Rewards Points: 614
Default

underground junction box?


All junctions have to be accessible by code. That rules out a buried junction. Either run it all the way to one shed then to the other or go to common point and put in a weatherproof junction box above ground to do the connections. Maybe a way to get a yard GFCI outlet?

curiousB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2012, 04:33 PM   #3
Floor Sweeper
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Central MN
Posts: 359
Rewards Points: 250
Default

underground junction box?


If you really want to split underground, you could use a quazite box:

junkcollector is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2012, 05:09 PM   #4
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,340
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

underground junction box?


Quote:
Originally Posted by curiousB
All junctions have to be accessible by code. That rules out a buried junction. Either run it all the way to one shed then to the other or go to common point and put in a weatherproof junction box above ground to do the connections. Maybe a way to get a yard GFCI outlet?
Not entirely true. There is an exception to 314.29.
__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2012, 05:36 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: IL
Posts: 734
Rewards Points: 614
Default

underground junction box?


Ok I was thinking the op wanted to bury a conduit fitting like an LL body or just splice wires in the trench.

A special in ground junction box would be ok I guess
curiousB is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Total Degrees of Bend in Underground PVC Conduit tedallen Electrical 12 03-29-2012 08:02 PM
underground electical lines BlueBSH Electrical 11 02-10-2012 03:52 AM
grounding old 2 wire junction to grounded junction gm8075 Electrical 3 03-28-2011 11:46 AM
Installing ceiling fixture with a metal junction box Romanuke Electrical 12 03-20-2011 02:37 PM
Junction boxes for garage T8 fixtures mazeroth Electrical 13 01-25-2010 09:52 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.