Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-29-2012, 08:35 PM   #1
Solutions (handyman)
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Central Alberta Canada
Posts: 334
Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Default

Underground to garage


A client of mine decided to add power to a garage some 65 ft from the main house. They say no 220 will ever be needed but I'm trying to be proactive. What would be the recommended wire size for the line to the subpanel? The garage will only need 14/2 and maybe one 12/2 circuit. Is it recommended to run 220? If only 110, what wire size for this? Garage is 28x32.
Thanks

Mark Harvey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2012, 08:39 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 123
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Underground to garage


I don't know much about Canadian code.

You really need to know exactly what the homeowner is going to be doing in the garage. How many lights and what type? What kind of tools? Air conditioning or heat? Etc.

I'm not sure if Canada has the exception that allows you to run a 20A MWBC and not have to install a sub panel or ground rods, if they do then that can save you some money if 2 X 20A circuits is enough.

The answer is in the details.

Macro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2012, 08:58 PM   #3
Solutions (handyman)
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Central Alberta Canada
Posts: 334
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Underground to garage


Thanks for the quick reply Macro. I don't think the use will be for anything other than lights (Probably six), 110 plugs (10) garage door opener (1) and an out side plug for their motorhome. He is a doctor and not a hands on type person ... with tools. t=The garage is a summer cottage addition for storage of boats , ATvs and that type of garage "stuff". Mosy of our codes follow U.S. guidelines (and yes I will check) but if I don't need a heavy duty line and sub-panel, that would be great. Any advice is always welcome.
Mark Harvey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2012, 06:26 AM   #4
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,789
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Underground to garage


motorhome

That changes your thinking about a small circuit.
Most motorhomes need a min. 30 amp circuit just for them selves.

You need to do a load calculation to determine exactly what is needed.
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to jbfan For This Useful Post:
Mark Harvey (05-30-2012)
Old 05-30-2012, 12:20 PM   #5
Cruising into the sunset
 
JulieMor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Chicago area
Posts: 473
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Underground to garage


Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark Harvey View Post
I'm trying to be proactive
Then you need to figure out what the maximum load will ever be in order to determine what size wire to install to feed the garage. I'd start with the motor home and then add a power circuit and a lighting circuit, min 15A @.
JulieMor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2012, 03:38 PM   #6
Sparky
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Central Florida
Posts: 701
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Underground to garage


If it were me, i would bury 2" PVC, and run #4 AL to a 60 amp sub panel. Leaves plenty of room if more power is ever needed.

Techy is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Weatherproofing garage help Perfik Building & Construction 2 10-17-2012 03:30 PM
Wiring Garage Sconces paredown Electrical 1 03-28-2012 03:08 PM
How to wire a detached Garage? (w/ Conduit?) FLintonRice Electrical 7 06-27-2011 01:08 PM
Insulate finished garage ceiling or condition garage? pasichnyk Building & Construction 19 12-06-2010 01:46 AM
Pouring Concrete Slab in a small rickety garage. RORO Building & Construction 0 10-19-2010 03:56 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.