Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 07-29-2010, 04:39 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 1
Share |
Default

underground electrical service


i want to run 4\0 aluminum teck cable. that is acceptable according to my local supply authority. do i have to increse the size on a 100' run?

rsec is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2010, 05:12 PM   #2
Electrician
 
Proby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: NJ
Posts: 818
Default

underground electrical service


Quote:
Originally Posted by rsec View Post
i want to run 4\0 aluminum teck cable. that is acceptable according to my local supply authority. do i have to increse the size on a 100' run?
This is something to be discussed with the power company, they play by their own rules.

__________________
Anything fun is either illegal, immoral, or fattening.
Proby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2010, 05:37 PM   #3
I=E/R
 
a7ecorsair's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,052
Default

underground electrical service


Quote:
Originally Posted by rsec View Post
4\0 aluminum teck cable.
could someone tell me what teck cable is? Haven't heard that term before.
a7ecorsair is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2010, 06:48 PM   #4
nap
You talking to me?
 
nap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: sw mi
Posts: 5,407
Default

underground electrical service


Quote:
Originally Posted by a7ecorsair View Post
could someone tell me what teck cable is? Haven't heard that term before.
It's a Canadian thing. Is appears to be like MC or AC cable with a sheath on it. So, kind of like sealtite with wire already in it.
nap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2010, 01:20 AM   #5
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Default

underground electrical service


The teck cable it is a Canada item.

Now to OP we need more question what size main breaker or service size you are plan to use ??

due you mention 120mm˛ { 4/0 AWG } is that for main underground cable run or what ?

Need to expand more info before we can give you correct answer.

Merci.
Marc
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2010, 06:05 AM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: PENNSYLVANIA
Posts: 2,229
Default

underground electrical service


Quote:
Originally Posted by Proby View Post
This is something to be discussed with the power company, they play by their own rules.
I like your little Quote Mile in my shoes.

COLDIRON is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Underground electrical service armyeng Electrical 3 06-27-2010 08:11 PM
Estimating Electrical Service size zootjeff Electrical 5 06-15-2009 10:14 AM
Help with electrical service hookup near meter! jayp Electrical 12 03-25-2009 11:05 PM
Copper wire sizing underground 185ft run 200A service DIYALLTHETIME Electrical 5 03-04-2009 08:22 PM
electrical service to barn bsteven Electrical 1 04-18-2005 08:43 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.