Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-24-2012, 10:38 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 1
Share |
Default

Underground Electrical run


I am adding on an attached garage in the next month and my mason wants to get started. My problem is that my overhead electrical service runs from a pole over the area where the new garage will be to a mast on the back side of the house. I do have Consumers Electric my power supplier coming out to look at the set up. Would undergound be an option (it would be under the block and foundation of the future garage? 120 ft run from the pole to the current box, or do I have to move the service to the front of the house which really would look horrible.

Hansolo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2012, 11:21 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 100
Default

Underground Electrical run


If you could post a sketch, and some pics of the area, it would help with the discussion.

Sounds like you have a pole in the front of your house and the service entry point is in the back of the house? If your current overhead service is going to interfere with your new garage addition, the service should be moved. You can certainly do a conversion of overhead to underground and route the underground service around the new garage.

If there are any customers in the rear of your house, it may be possible to connect to a different pole in the back of your property and keep an overhead service to the back of your house.

Talk with your local utility and tell them exactly:
(1) where you plan on building your new garage.
(2) where you would like the route of your electric service.
(3) where you want to have your service entry location (if you plan on moving it).

The utility company should be able to draw/mapped out options of your service and what it will cost to install it. It could include having a pedestal/padmount on your property for the underground service.

Wiscbldr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2012, 12:50 PM   #3
Semi-Pro Electro-Geek
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Arizona, USA
Posts: 2,531
Default

Underground Electrical run


If they can't move the drop to a different pole or mid-span, you might consider moving the service to the garage. You would then have the overhead drop to the garage, and probably run underground from the garage to the house.
mpoulton is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
interference between underground electrical and coax rowlander Electrical 13 04-06-2012 08:03 PM
underground electrical service rsec Electrical 5 07-30-2010 06:05 AM
Underground electrical service armyeng Electrical 3 06-27-2010 08:11 PM
Changing from Electrical Cook Top to Electrical Range EkS Electrical 24 06-22-2010 10:43 AM
Just for fun Andy in ATL Electrical 56 10-20-2009 09:33 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.