Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-12-2012, 03:15 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 35
Share |
Question

underground electrical conduit through wall, height?


Running electrical conduit from 24" underground up through a wall to the inside of my garage for a sub-panel.

What height off the ground should my exit from the house and entry be into the garage?

Thanks

spdorsey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2012, 03:30 PM   #2
Member
 
Julius793's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: New york
Posts: 1,053
Default

underground electrical conduit through wall, height?


Quote:
Originally Posted by spdorsey
Running electrical conduit from 24" underground up through a wall to the inside of my garage for a sub-panel.

What height off the ground should my exit from the house and entry be into the garage?

Thanks
What ever is convenient

__________________
Electricity will kill you if you give it a chance
Julius793 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2012, 03:31 PM   #3
retired elect/hvac/plumb
 
plummen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: south east of omaha/The island of misfit contractors
Posts: 2,895
Default

underground electrical conduit through wall, height?


Id normally take it out of house at sill plate level,once it gets to the garage id normally bring it out of the ground about 12" in pvc then convert it to emt up to the bottem of your disconnect box on outside of garage if youre installing one.
If youre not installing disconnect id bring the emt up to bottem of an LB then go right into the back of panel at closest knock out
plummen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2012, 03:55 PM   #4
MarginallyQualified
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Winston-Salem NC
Posts: 3,656
Default

underground electrical conduit through wall, height?


Quote:
Originally Posted by plummen View Post
Id normally take it out of house at sill plate level,...
...or not even try to hit a sill.
Trench up to the wall and elbow up OUTSIDE of it.
Then an LB fitting into the panel.

hth
TarheelTerp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2012, 09:56 PM   #5
retired elect/hvac/plumb
 
plummen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: south east of omaha/The island of misfit contractors
Posts: 2,895
Default

underground electrical conduit through wall, height?


yeah I meant to say rim joist,just above sill plate!
plummen is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Building a half wall: 2 questions kbizzle Carpentry 7 02-19-2011 08:22 AM
Water in conduit MYSTERY feign3 Electrical 4 03-14-2010 08:17 AM
Breaking up a long/continuous wall tigereye Interior Decorating 4 03-08-2009 03:43 PM
Electrical size conduit question pauls Electrical 12 12-03-2008 09:22 PM
Minimum wall thickness for electrical dc4nomore Electrical 10 10-10-2008 08:00 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.