Underground Electric - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-08-2011, 11:04 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 17
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Underground electric


i want to run an underground electric line from my garage to a small pond pump. it will be 70', buried at about 18" depth, run through 3/4" pvc pipe. what type of wire do i need to use so it's safe? i'll probably use 14/2.

Advertisement

jjjeno is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2011, 11:08 AM   #2
nap
You talking to me?
 
nap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: sw mi
Posts: 5,407
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Underground electric


underground, something like THWN would be correct. Note the "W" in the designation. That means it is rated for wet conditions, which underground conduit is.


but #14? why? That would limit you to a 15 amp breaker and due to the distance, you should also consider voltage drop as well, especially with a motor.

what is the current draw of the pump?

Advertisement

nap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2011, 11:50 AM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 17
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Underground electric


the pump is labled 115 v/60hz/45watts/.8 amps
I was only thinking 14/2 because that's what I think the line I was going to tap off of is. There might be a 12/2 line in the garage i can tap instead. i was trying to avoid running a line all the way to the circuit box.
jjjeno is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2011, 11:54 AM   #4
nap
You talking to me?
 
nap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: sw mi
Posts: 5,407
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Underground electric


never mind. If you are talking less than an amp, you shouldn't have any trouble with the #14.

I deal with commercial electrical and when somebody speaks of a pump for a fountain or water pump, I typically think of a couple horsepower or so.

Is this a plug in unit or hardwired? You should have the circuit protected bt GFCI at some point.
nap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2011, 01:07 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: SoCal
Posts: 1,794
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Underground electric


Being a single 120v circuit, this conduit can be buried just 12" - someone please confirm or correct?
vsheetz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2011, 03:57 PM   #6
Scared Electrician
 
Saturday Cowboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Colorado
Posts: 715
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Underground electric


see 300.5
__________________
Ragged Trousered Philanthropist


Please follow the code - its there for your safety no matter how inconvenient.
Saturday Cowboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2011, 04:21 PM   #7
A "Handy Husband"
 
rjniles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Carolina Low Country
Posts: 4,241
Rewards Points: 2,392
Default

Underground electric


Quote:
Originally Posted by vsheetz View Post
Being a single 120v circuit, this conduit can be buried just 12" - someone please confirm or correct?
To meet the requirement for burial depth, it has to be GFCI protected before it goes underground. There are other requirements that are not important for this application.
__________________
Location:
Coastal South Carolina
rjniles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2011, 10:06 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: SoCal
Posts: 1,794
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Underground electric


Quote:
Originally Posted by rjniles

To meet the requirement for burial depth, it has to be GFCI protected before it goes underground. There are other requirements that are not important for this application.
Ah yes - thanks I had forgotten the important GFCI requirement. Thanks.
__________________
____________
Vince
vsheetz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2011, 10:30 PM   #9
Journeyman Wireman
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Portland, OR USA
Posts: 190
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Underground electric


Quote:
Originally Posted by vsheetz View Post
Being a single 120v circuit, this conduit can be buried just 12" - someone please confirm or correct?
iYes, If the circuit is 120v, not exceeding 20a and is GFCI protected.

Advertisement

Jupe Blue is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Finding underground electric wire for driveway lights. mitch21131 Electrical 25 09-24-2012 09:52 AM
underground electric wiring Bob P Electrical 11 03-22-2011 03:04 PM
underground electric under pond jason7858 Electrical 35 01-10-2011 04:52 PM
underground water and electric handifoot Electrical 9 05-06-2009 10:13 AM
Design an outside underground electric system??? antiqking Electrical 6 09-13-2008 11:28 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts