Underground Electical Lines - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-09-2012, 08:26 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Indiana, PA
Posts: 1,312
Rewards Points: 522
Default

underground electical lines


Might of ran into an issue, dont know if you guys can help me out some... the township dug up part of our yard where all the lines go, and we have underground service for all utilities.. at our meter its conduit down to underground, well where they dug, the conduit stops... I thought the conduit was supose to run into a termination box or something? it just stops and the 3 wires come out, the electic company appears to of just ran wires in a similar way from where they split them in a service box at the front of our property they just run outside exposed underground to where they continue to the negibors houe, it appears our cables come out of the conduit and tie into the main lines rigth there underground nothings in conduit except the part coming from our meter to the end of the property.

shouldn't the electric companies main lines been in conduit? why did they tie in right there underground and not in a box? ontop of that the lines are only 1 foot underground for their lines! my conduit is over 3 feet underground and appears to slope up to meet with their lines...

and if this is wrong, im not even sure who to complain to... i'm sure the electic company will tell me to go away...

Advertisement

BlueBSH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2012, 08:40 PM   #2
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,978
Rewards Points: 2,212
Default

underground electical lines


Residential service laterals are rarely installed in conduit by the POCO.

Advertisement

brric is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to brric For This Useful Post:
plummen (02-09-2012)
Old 02-09-2012, 09:31 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Indiana, PA
Posts: 1,312
Rewards Points: 522
Default

underground electical lines


Quote:
Originally Posted by brric View Post
Residential service laterals are rarely installed in conduit by the POCO.
what about only being under 1 ft from the surface? and where they did the connection splices being direct burried? just asking because I want to be sure while this is dug up that it is correct
BlueBSH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2012, 09:44 PM   #4
Electrical Contractor
 
rrolleston's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Granville, NY
Posts: 1,941
Rewards Points: 1,000
Send a message via AIM to rrolleston Send a message via Yahoo to rrolleston
Default

underground electical lines


You could contact the local inspector and the poco but if they consider if unsafe you could be disconnected and forced to fix it on your dime not theirs.
rrolleston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2012, 09:47 PM   #5
I=E/R
 
a7ecorsair's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,052
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

underground electical lines


Did the township damage the lines? If not, what are you complaining about?
a7ecorsair is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to a7ecorsair For This Useful Post:
gregzoll (02-09-2012)
Old 02-09-2012, 09:54 PM   #6
Electrical Contractor
 
rrolleston's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Granville, NY
Posts: 1,941
Rewards Points: 1,000
Send a message via AIM to rrolleston Send a message via Yahoo to rrolleston
Default

underground electical lines


I would leave it alone if it makes you feel better maybe put some marking tape of some sort a few inches below the surface the whole length of the cable. Anyone digging should be contacting dig safe anyways.
rrolleston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2012, 10:09 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hartfield VA
Posts: 27,798
Rewards Points: 712
Default

underground electical lines


Power companys do under ground splices all the time with no boxes.
This a total non issure, let it rest.
joecaption is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2012, 10:27 PM   #8
retired elect/hvac/plumb
 
plummen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: south east of omaha/The island of misfit contractors
Posts: 2,916
Rewards Points: 2,010
Default

underground electical lines


Quote:
Originally Posted by BlueBSH View Post
what about only being under 1 ft from the surface? and where they did the connection splices being direct burried? just asking because I want to be sure while this is dug up that it is correct
Id guess they were buried closer to 30" origionally but if somebody comes along and does grading after the fact its hard to blame the poco.
This is why locates are a good thing before any kind of digging
__________________
"facts" have no relevance to this discusion
Posting from a concrete bunker under a non descript barn
plummen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2012, 11:02 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Indiana, PA
Posts: 1,312
Rewards Points: 522
Default

underground electical lines


Quote:
Originally Posted by a7ecorsair View Post
Did the township damage the lines? If not, what are you complaining about?
no, township is claiming its not to code... code officer coming down on me as the one that is to pay to "fix" it, that's why I am asking these questions to see if it was right or not... they dug it up for something else, saw that and I got the complaints from them since it is in my yard...

I dont think it was a grading issue, the lines are only 3 ft from the road, so the grade didn'ft drop much.. i think they actually put them only 1 ft from the grade
BlueBSH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2012, 11:15 PM   #10
retired elect/hvac/plumb
 
plummen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: south east of omaha/The island of misfit contractors
Posts: 2,916
Rewards Points: 2,010
Default

underground electical lines


As somebody who spent a lot of time putting in utilities in my younger years I can honestly say Ive seen it happen plenty of times over the years.
things start out being put deep into the ground then the grading co comes through and takes 6" off the top for a rough grading of yard,then the concrete guys come though and wack another 6" off when they install sidewalks/driveway and dump it in a differant part of the yard.
Then the grading guy comes back through to try and straighten the mess.
Years later homeowner number 3 hires some landscaping guy who wants to try out his new skid loader tearing up the yard to plant new grass........
It goes on and on
__________________
"facts" have no relevance to this discusion
Posting from a concrete bunker under a non descript barn
plummen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2012, 11:18 PM   #11
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,964
Rewards Points: 2,324
Default

underground electical lines


Here, that wire belongs to the poco.
Poco's have their own rules.
Every underground service I have done require 3' below finished grade for my sweep.
The wire from the transformer is not in conduit.
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to jbfan For This Useful Post:
zappa (02-10-2012)
Old 02-10-2012, 04:52 AM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Eighty Four, Pa.15330
Posts: 1,415
Rewards Points: 828
Default

underground electical lines


Quote:
Originally Posted by brric View Post
Residential service laterals are rarely installed in conduit by the POCO.
Here in 84,Pa.15330, we have to run 3" pvc and have to use sched. 80 90's and stub up risers.

Advertisement

bobelectric is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
locating underground sprinkler lines denemante Landscaping & Lawn Care 9 02-14-2012 10:24 AM
Connect Air Cond Drain to House Waste lines AdamOJ Plumbing 19 11-23-2011 07:47 AM
Backyard Drainage w/ Underground Phone Lines (Photos) JustADoc Landscaping & Lawn Care 11 08-10-2011 11:36 AM
Low point in water supply lines dave11 Plumbing 3 02-01-2011 08:13 PM
Why move/replace heat pump refrigerant lines? EdLank HVAC 1 05-09-2010 06:02 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts