Underground E;ectric Line With Internet - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical


Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-17-2012, 05:47 PM   #1
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 10

underground e;ectric line with internet

If i have an underground electric line in PVC going to a storage building on my property, can I run CAT 5 cable in the same conduit. It would be about 200 feet?


liz@sagecrest.c is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2012, 05:55 PM   #2
Licensed Electrician
k_buz's Avatar
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,352
Rewards Points: 2,006

You cannot.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2012, 05:55 PM   #3
Electrical Contractor
rrolleston's Avatar
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Granville, NY
Posts: 1,947
Rewards Points: 1,012
Send a message via AIM to rrolleston Send a message via Yahoo to rrolleston

It will have to be in it's own conduit.
With Electricity there is the right way to do it and the dead way. Just because it works does not make it safe.
rrolleston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2012, 06:35 AM   #4
A "Handy Husband"
rjniles's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Carolina Low Country
Posts: 7,057
Rewards Points: 3,966

And even if you could-you would not want to. It would be so noisy it would be unuseable.
Coastal South Carolina
rjniles is online now   Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
5/8 water meter with a 1 inch servise line ????? ogoz23 Plumbing 11 02-04-2012 10:35 PM
Underground gas line under portable spa? scottwilliamson Plumbing 0 03-29-2010 01:36 PM
Can a roof vent identify where my main sewer line exits the house? YerDugliness Plumbing 8 01-26-2010 04:13 PM
Do I need to prime my oil feed line? 1parkpointer HVAC 3 10-22-2009 06:52 PM

Top of Page | View New Posts


Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.1