Underground Circuit To Water Fountain - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-17-2008, 07:23 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Underground circuit to water fountain


I would like to run an underground circuit from a fuse panel to a water fountain about 50 to 60 feet away. I doubt if there ever would be anything plugged into that outlet that would exceed 15 amps, but 20 might be a safer bet, and if it's not too expensive, I could wire it for 30, which would probably be the maximum for the fuse controlling the circuit. This circuit will also have an outlet very close to the fuse box (which is outdoors) for using tools out in the yard. This will be a DIY project from start to finish, but I might have to hire someone to run a trencher to dig the trench for the wiring if I run into too many roots. We recently had a row of trees along the side of our property cut down (last year) but the large root system (and these are big roots!) goes all over that part of the yard. They are more of a problem than the rocks. I cut through several of these when I put in a rose garden with a reciprocating saw. A few questions: 1.) Considering a trade-off between digging through tree roots, rocks, etc., would I do well to dig a shallower trench (this will be done by hand) and use metal conduit for protection or PVC conduit and go deeper? 2.) I have had bad experiences with stray RF radiation tripping GFI outlets in my garage when I tried transmitting with my ham radio equipment. Is there any problem with using a standard 3 wire grounded outlet or does the NEC require GFI for all outdoor electrical wiring now? 3.) Can I wire the circuit with aluminum wiring, or will there likely be a problem with the old fuse box not being compatible with aluminum? I understand that newer outlets can be used with aluminum wiring, and that it requires a larger gauge wire to carry the same amount of current. I've always used copper before. 4.) Can I run Romex type wiring in a conduit? I have some 12 or 10 gauge copper Romex wire left over from a previous project and might have enough to do the job (not sure). Or do I have to use separate insulated wiring for this? My guess is that if I have even a few bends in the conduit, it will be very difficult to pull the wire through and that stranded will be needed if just for practical reasons. Thanks for your replies ahead of time. Donald

Advertisement

t2000kw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2008, 01:29 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,294
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Underground circuit to water fountain


Use 3/4 inch PVC with the fewest 90's possible (max 4) and #12 thwn black, white and green COPPER (not romex) on a 20 amp breaker. GFCI protect it at the source (Use a GFCI breaker or install a GFCI outlet at the panel and run from there.)


And use PARAGRAPHS!!

Advertisement


Last edited by 220/221; 08-18-2008 at 01:33 AM.
220/221 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2008, 03:51 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Canada (s/w ON.)
Posts: 2,294
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Underground circuit to water fountain


Quote:
Originally Posted by 220/221 View Post
Use 3/4 inch PVC with the fewest 90's possible (max 4) and #12 thwn black, white and green COPPER (not romex) on a 20 amp breaker. GFCI protect it at the source (Use a GFCI breaker or install a GFCI outlet at the panel and run from there.)


And use PARAGRAPHS!!
For my fish pond I have installed 14/2 grounded copper cable rated for direct burial.
In my area this requires burial at 18" and covered with PT lumber.
Inside it is connected to a ground fault receptacle, that is fed from its own 15 amp breaker.
The pond pump is 3/4 HP ( 5 amps running current) and there is lots of reserve for a 10 watt fountain pump!
Wildie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2008, 05:15 PM   #4
Licensed Electrician
 
jrclen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: central wisconsin
Posts: 982
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Underground circuit to water fountain


If you protect this circuit with a GFCI device and limit it to 20 amps or less, you can direct bury a type UF wire 12" deep. Conduit would protect it a little bit but still must be 12" deep. Any receptacle outlet out doors must be GFCI protected. #12 for 20amp and #14 for 15amp.

As you see from Wildie's post, local codes can vary from the National code.
__________________
John

Last edited by jrclen; 08-18-2008 at 05:17 PM.
jrclen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2008, 06:09 PM   #5
Electrician
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Connecticut, Litchfield
Posts: 2,015
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Underground circuit to water fountain


Dont forget to take a look at Article 680 V. Fountains also.
chris75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2008, 09:51 AM   #6
Licensed Electrician
 
jrclen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: central wisconsin
Posts: 982
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Underground circuit to water fountain


Quote:
Originally Posted by chris75 View Post
Dont forget to take a look at Article 680 V. Fountains also.
Absolutely.

Advertisement

__________________
John
jrclen is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
circuit , electrical , underground , wiring


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
(Water Heater MYSTERY) Hot water out from dead tank with cold water in it? Inayity Plumbing 6 07-14-2008 09:36 PM
Low Water Pressure Eagle2 Plumbing 5 05-28-2008 11:29 PM
Ele hot water tank and welder sharing circuit wazeaz Electrical 68 03-19-2008 08:17 PM
Central vac, freezer, and gas water heater on same circuit? curls00 Electrical 7 03-10-2008 10:57 PM
Periodic release from (I think) the T&P valve on the water heater alexz Plumbing 3 08-15-2006 11:31 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts