Underground Cable - Any Way To Tell? - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-01-2012, 04:32 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles County
Posts: 206
Rewards Points: 154
Default

Underground cable - any way to tell?


I see alot of cable offered on craigslist material. Only problem is I don't know which is suitable for underground pvc conduit burial. Is there any easy way to tell?

Advertisement

jackwashere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2012, 04:37 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hartfield VA
Posts: 27,758
Rewards Points: 632
Default

Underground cable - any way to tell?


If it's all in conduit any wire will work. If it's direct burial it needs to be UF.

Advertisement

joecaption is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2012, 05:33 PM   #3
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,977
Rewards Points: 2,210
Default

Underground cable - any way to tell?


Quote:
Originally Posted by joecaption View Post
If it's all in conduit any wire will work. If it's direct burial it needs to be UF.
Totally inaccurate.
brric is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to brric For This Useful Post:
plummen (03-02-2012)
Old 03-01-2012, 05:37 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hartfield VA
Posts: 27,758
Rewards Points: 632
Default

Underground cable - any way to tell?


Well then clear it up for him.
joecaption is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2012, 05:44 PM   #5
Electrical Contractor
 
rrolleston's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Granville, NY
Posts: 1,941
Rewards Points: 1,000
Send a message via AIM to rrolleston Send a message via Yahoo to rrolleston
Default

Underground cable - any way to tell?


The cable has to be rated for direct burial. I would suggest asking the seller what the rating is and ask someone here or look it up to find out if it's rated for direct burial.
__________________
With Electricity there is the right way to do it and the dead way. Just because it works does not make it safe.
rrolleston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2012, 06:18 PM   #6
I=E/R
 
a7ecorsair's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,052
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Underground cable - any way to tell?


Quote:
Originally Posted by jackwashere View Post
I see alot of cable offered on craigslist material. Only problem is I don't know which is suitable for underground pvc conduit burial. Is there any easy way to tell?
Do not buy any used cable if you cannot read the rating printed on the sheathing.
a7ecorsair is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2012, 08:43 PM   #7
A "Handy Husband"
 
rjniles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Carolina Low Country
Posts: 4,231
Rewards Points: 2,372
Default

Underground cable - any way to tell?


Quote:
Originally Posted by brric View Post
Totally inaccurate.
Wire in underground conduit needs to be rated for a wet location. THWN meets the requirement and is the most obvious choice.
__________________
Location:
Coastal South Carolina
rjniles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2012, 09:47 PM   #8
Semi-Pro Electro-Geek
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Arizona, USA
Posts: 2,571
Rewards Points: 2,038
Default

Underground cable - any way to tell?


Quote:
Originally Posted by rrolleston View Post
The cable has to be rated for direct burial. I would suggest asking the seller what the rating is and ask someone here or look it up to find out if it's rated for direct burial.
Only if it's going to be direct buried. If it's in conduit, it just needs to be wet rated.
mpoulton is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2012, 10:33 PM   #9
Electrical Contractor
 
rrolleston's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Granville, NY
Posts: 1,941
Rewards Points: 1,000
Send a message via AIM to rrolleston Send a message via Yahoo to rrolleston
Default

Underground cable - any way to tell?


Quote:
Originally Posted by mpoulton View Post
Only if it's going to be direct buried. If it's in conduit, it just needs to be wet rated.
__________________
With Electricity there is the right way to do it and the dead way. Just because it works does not make it safe.
rrolleston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2012, 07:24 AM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: WV
Posts: 3,016
Rewards Points: 2,212
Default

Underground cable - any way to tell?


Quote:
Originally Posted by rjniles View Post
Wire in underground conduit needs to be rated for a wet location. THWN meets the requirement and is the most obvious choice.
This. Most will be rated THHN/THWN. Any big box store will have what you need, sold by the foot. It's probably a lot cheaper than UF cable.
md2lgyk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2012, 01:45 PM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 113
Rewards Points: 77
Default

Underground cable - any way to tell?


Quote:
Originally Posted by md2lgyk View Post
This. Most will be rated THHN/THWN. Any big box store will have what you need, sold by the foot. It's probably a lot cheaper than UF cable.
Or find an electrical supply house. The one I use sells wire by the foot at FAR less than what I've paid at the Orange Apron store... Like half.
JeepNick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2012, 01:48 PM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles County
Posts: 206
Rewards Points: 154
Default

Underground cable - any way to tell?


Quote:
Originally Posted by md2lgyk View Post
Most will be rated THHN/THWN.
So if it is THHN or THWN I am good and can use it for burial in underground pvc conduit. Correct?
jackwashere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2012, 01:55 PM   #13
Electrical Contractor
 
rrolleston's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Granville, NY
Posts: 1,941
Rewards Points: 1,000
Send a message via AIM to rrolleston Send a message via Yahoo to rrolleston
Default

Underground cable - any way to tell?


THWN is wet rated.

What will you be running with this cable?
__________________
With Electricity there is the right way to do it and the dead way. Just because it works does not make it safe.
rrolleston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2012, 02:09 PM   #14
A "Handy Husband"
 
rjniles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Carolina Low Country
Posts: 4,231
Rewards Points: 2,372
Default

Underground cable - any way to tell?


Quote:
Originally Posted by jackwashere View Post
So if it is THHN or THWN I am good and can use it for burial in underground pvc conduit. Correct?
It is THWN, but most wire today is dual rated THHN/THWN. THHN is for dry location conduit.

Advertisement

__________________
Location:
Coastal South Carolina
rjniles is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Running underground cable across my yard blue sky Electrical 11 12-31-2011 02:35 PM
Cat 5 Cable Underground regularguy Electrical 4 10-28-2011 05:41 PM
Re-route dryer electric cable Stu27 Electrical 10 09-06-2010 09:21 PM
Underground Cable Question Livewire78 Electrical 7 12-09-2009 01:15 PM
Underground service entrance cable requirements. kgt55 Electrical 9 06-22-2009 07:55 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts