Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 04-14-2006, 08:13 PM   #1

Send a message via Yahoo to Lonicera
Share |

Underground cable

Has anyone ever used a Ditch Witch and installed underground cable? My electric co-op wants $5.25 a foot, and I need 600'. I wondered if I could do part of this myself.

Lonicera is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2006, 08:23 PM   #2
Licensed Electrical Cont.

Underground cable

$5.25 a foot is not a bad price.
I assume it is half primary and half (hopefully less) secondary?

Old 04-15-2006, 05:32 AM   #3

Underground cable

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lonicera
Has anyone ever used a Ditch Witch and installed underground cable? My electric co-op wants $5.25 a foot, and I need 600'. I wondered if I could do part of this myself.
Unfortunately yes. [] I do this for a living. Trust me when I say it is very hard back breaking work. You will need several relatives or good friends to help because the machine does not do all the hard work. You also need a trenching shovel to clean out the bottom of the hole. Several rakes and shovels. At least one person who has trenched before. You will need to have a marking service locate existing utilites and hand dig near them.

600 feet will take a DIY two to three days, and If it rains you will need to pump out the hole before you continue. You also cannot backfill and tamp wet dirt It will have to dry for a day first.
jwhite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2006, 10:02 AM   #4
electric & plumbing contr

Underground cable

Quote:
Originally Posted by Speedy Petey
$5.25 a foot is not a bad price.
I assume it is half primary and half (hopefully less) secondary?