Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-02-2010, 11:09 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 5
Share |
Default

Undercabinet Surface Mounted Box for Disposal Plug


Replacing my disposal from a batch to a continuous. The new one has a plug the old one did not. So I plan to use the Romex line to a surface mounted outlet box in the cabinet. What kind of box is permitted? I have a white metal Wet Location Box, and a plastic Carlon box that the store rep said was fine. But it says wall or ceiling mount only, and because the cabinet back sits off the wall by an inch I thought screwing into the side of the cabinet was most stable.

Also, can I use one of the proper rated remote appliance switches plugged in the outlet (per above) to control the disposal, rather than putting a wall swtich?
xd11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2010, 11:16 PM   #2
Electrical Supplier
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Dayton, OH
Posts: 205
Default

Undercabinet Surface Mounted Box for Disposal Plug


I dont know about switches, but as far as the box will go, I would use a metal Handy Box with knock outs. Thats all you really need. Make sure you ground the box.

You dont need a wet location box there. Without a weatherproof in use cover, its kind of pointless.
LyonsElecSupply is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2010, 09:38 AM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 5
Default

Undercabinet Surface Mounted Box for Disposal Plug


Lyons,
Thanks. I had the Outdoor box in my basement for two years and the Carlon was only 69 cents so no big deal either way; I can use a metal handy box. Is the romex from the old disposer-direct connection ok or do I need to replace it with BX to go to the new outlet box?
xd11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2010, 09:48 AM   #4
the Musigician
 
DangerMouse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: I'm right here!
Posts: 10,404
Default

Undercabinet Surface Mounted Box for Disposal Plug


Quote:
Originally Posted by xd11 View Post
Is the romex from the old disposer-direct connection ok or do I need to replace it with BX to go to the new outlet box?
This may depend upon your location.
Where are you?

DM
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]Click
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
to see some of my original magic tricks and trick boxes!
DangerMouse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2010, 02:55 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 5
Default

Undercabinet Surface Mounted Box for Disposal Plug


NJ. Single Family Home.
xd11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2010, 08:40 AM   #6
Electrical Supplier
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Dayton, OH
Posts: 205
Default

Undercabinet Surface Mounted Box for Disposal Plug


NEC says no, but local code may require MC.

If you enter from the wall directly into the box, just use a romex connector and you should be fine.
__________________
"Do it right the first time and avoid duplication of effort"

Your AHJ/Inspectors ALWAYS have the final say on ANY electrical code issue.
If in doubt, contact a licensed, experienced, reputable electrician to perform the work.
LyonsElecSupply is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
removed old romex (added new wire) and added a plug doesn't work now? Limit54 Electrical 9 11-08-2009 09:03 PM
Out door plug Red Squirrel Electrical 11 09-06-2009 07:04 PM
Unpolarised US Type 2 Plug to UK Plug. razorcut Electrical 19 05-18-2009 09:49 AM
20 amp plug MikeyP Electrical 6 01-03-2009 09:04 PM
New plug for toaster oven? mike720 Electrical 3 11-23-2008 07:44 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.