Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-30-2008, 06:59 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 5
Share |
Default

undercabinet puck lights


Hi All,

Mr. Contractor and I are having a discussion on how to wire these puck lights in my kitchen. The puck light are from American Flourescent HP-Series 12V/20W Halogens.

The layout of my kitchen is sort of a broken "U". Hence there are essentially two zones. With this in mind, I bought two HT-150 transformers (hardwire installation) also from American Flourescent one for each zone. Each zone have at least 5 puck lights

Here's the problem...

Each puck lights have a wire attached to it. Each wire has sort of a "plug" end with the words NV6 on it. The diagram that came with the lights shows the lights being plugged into a terminal block. The HT-150 transformers do not have a terminal block. Do I just "snip off" the NV6 plugs and splice it to the output wires in the transformer? Can I splice two puck lights together?

I called American Flourescent and they referred me to Hera who makes the puck lights but to no avail no one can answer my question. I doubt if I am the first one to encounter this situation.

I hope my question is clear...

Thanks in advance!
ccalmonte is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2008, 07:08 PM   #2
Electrician
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Connecticut, Litchfield
Posts: 2,015
Default

undercabinet puck lights


Quote:
Originally Posted by ccalmonte View Post
Hi All,

Mr. Contractor and I are having a discussion on how to wire these puck lights in my kitchen. The puck light are from American Flourescent HP-Series 12V/20W Halogens.

The layout of my kitchen is sort of a broken "U". Hence there are essentially two zones. With this in mind, I bought two HT-150 transformers (hardwire installation) also from American Flourescent one for each zone. Each zone have at least 5 puck lights

Here's the problem...

Each puck lights have a wire attached to it. Each wire has sort of a "plug" end with the words NV6 on it. The diagram that came with the lights shows the lights being plugged into a terminal block. The HT-150 transformers do not have a terminal block. Do I just "snip off" the NV6 plugs and splice it to the output wires in the transformer? Can I splice two puck lights together?

I called American Flourescent and they referred me to Hera who makes the puck lights but to no avail no one can answer my question. I doubt if I am the first one to encounter this situation.

I hope my question is clear...

Thanks in advance!

You can splice them but it seems your missing a part or bought a different transformer... where are you mounting the transformer by the way?
chris75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2008, 07:21 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 5
Default

undercabinet puck lights


Quote:
Originally Posted by chris75 View Post
You can splice them but it seems your missing a part or bought a different transformer... where are you mounting the transformer by the way?
Hi chris75,

That's what I thought too. When I was buying the lights and transformer on-line it seems that its very straightforward. I want 5 (12V/20W) puck lights so I need a 150W transformer. The website allowed me to choose the transformer so I assume the two item goes together. There was nothing else...Of course the picture of the pucklights didn't show the wire that came out of it nor did the picture of the transformer. I had to call American Flourescent to send me an installation sheet for the transformer. It showed wires being spliced into transformer.

Most probably the transformer will go inside cabinets.

So you think I can splice together the lights to create a daisy chain series and then splice the last light in the chain to the transformer?


Thanks for the reply.
ccalmonte is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2008, 07:31 PM   #4
Electrician
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Connecticut, Litchfield
Posts: 2,015
Default

undercabinet puck lights


Quote:
Originally Posted by ccalmonte View Post
Hi chris75,

That's what I thought too. When I was buying the lights and transformer on-line it seems that its very straightforward. I want 5 (12V/20W) puck lights so I need a 150W transformer. The website allowed me to choose the transformer so I assume the two item goes together. There was nothing else...Of course the picture of the pucklights didn't show the wire that came out of it nor did the picture of the transformer. I had to call American Flourescent to send me an installation sheet for the transformer. It showed wires being spliced into transformer.

Most probably the transformer will go inside cabinets.

So you think I can splice together the lights to create a daisy chain series and then splice the last light in the chain to the transformer?


Thanks for the reply.

Splicing them will not be a problem... making it look nice is another..
chris75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2008, 09:09 AM   #5
Power Gen/RS Engineer
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Oak Park, Illinois
Posts: 704
Default

undercabinet puck lights


I'm building some built-in cabinets for my living room and I intend on installing puck lights underneath the shelves. I've been doing some research and at least two manufacturers want the wires spliced together using mechanical terminals. I'm guessing that since the fixture leads are quite small and probably stranded that the concern is making a solid connection. Crimp caps would be another option. That being said, as long as the voltage of the lights is compatible with that of the transformer, I don't see any issue with cutting off the terminals. As I said though, I'd probably shy away from twist-on wire nuts for making these connections.

Jimmy
__________________
The very existence of flamethrowers proves that some time, somewhere, someone said to themselves,"You know, I want to set those people over there on fire, but I'm just not close enough to get the job done." - George Carlin
BigJimmy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2008, 10:25 AM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,294
Default

undercabinet puck lights


Quote:
Do I just "snip off" the NV6 plugs and splice it to the output wires in
Yes. Use wire nuts.
220/221 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2008, 06:39 PM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 5
Default

undercabinet puck lights


Thanks for the replies all!

After hours of research on-line and a couple of dead ends with tech support from the manufacturers on the transformer and puck lights, I decided to take a different course.

I found that Seagull Lighting's Ambience line a good alternative. They have puck lights that "clips" on to a track. Basically, the pucks are connected to a fused plug. The plug clips into a track w/ cables and contact and wella! An electrician (or a diy-er) would probably be able to connect the fixture wire to the fused plug. I downloaded the instructions from their website and it looks easy.

The tracks w/cables are installed under the cabinets concealed. The cable is connected to a transformer and power supply. So essentially it goes like this. Power supply -> transformer -> tracks with cables -> fused plug clips on track with cables ---which then sends power---> puck lights.

No splicing no dicing no void warranties!

I think this line was initially introduced as strip lights with clip-on low voltage lines. This gives out an even wash of light. I did not want that. I wanted my lights to be focused so puck lights was the way to go.
ccalmonte is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2008, 08:25 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Canada (s/w ON.)
Posts: 2,294
Default

undercabinet puck lights


I have installed 'puck' lights on two different occasions.
Its been my experience that using the supplied plugs never match up to what is needed for that particular location.
I cut the plugs off and cut the wires to suit. I connect the wires with insulated crimp sleeves.
The wires themselves, I run in plastic raceway, with a snap on cover. This raceway has an adhesive on the back and can placed where required.
The transformer is screwed under the counter and its power cord run through plastic raceway also.
in my case I was able to remove a receptacle and replace it with P&S switched receptacle, where I plugged in the transformer.
As I had more power cord length than was needed, I cut it to a suitable length and connected it to a new plug.
Wildie is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
help with christmas lights!!!!! reds_21 Electrical 11 11-28-2007 10:02 AM
Formula for changing lights to recessed bulbs? Jemo Electrical 12 01-26-2007 05:02 PM
Permenant wiring of undercabinet lights Steven Electrical 1 11-16-2006 10:53 PM
Converting plug-in undercabinet light to direct wire ccole10 Electrical 4 07-21-2005 10:58 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.