Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-05-2010, 02:32 PM   #1
Knows everything but that
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Silver Spring, MD
Posts: 165
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Undercabinet outlets


Oh a recent DIY TV show I saw an installer put kitchen outlets hidden underneath the cabinets. Is this up to code in the US? It makes for a really clean back splash look. Thanks!

Shane

JakAHearts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2010, 04:06 PM   #2
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,951
Rewards Points: 2,158
Default

Undercabinet outlets


Yes it can be done with wiremold and GFCI circuit breakers. Much more costly however.

brric is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2010, 07:25 PM   #3
Knows everything but that
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Silver Spring, MD
Posts: 165
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Undercabinet outlets


Thanks. Its only money. What is wiremold?

Shane
JakAHearts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2010, 08:02 PM   #4
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,951
Rewards Points: 2,158
Default

Undercabinet outlets



Last edited by brric; 06-05-2010 at 08:08 PM.
brric is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to brric For This Useful Post:
JakAHearts (06-05-2010)
Old 06-05-2010, 09:41 PM   #5
Knows everything but that
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Silver Spring, MD
Posts: 165
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Undercabinet outlets


Quote:
Originally Posted by brric View Post
The show I saw had regular outlets encased in plastic boxes with regluar faceplates on them. The wiring was then encase in some sort of plastic also. Ever see anything like that?
JakAHearts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2010, 09:52 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 1,702
Rewards Points: 1,224
Default

Undercabinet outlets


Hidden under the upper cabinets or the lower cabinets? I'm pretty sure lower cabinets is a no no. Little ones will pull appliances off the countertop by pulling on the cords.
jogr is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2010, 10:53 PM   #7
Just call me Andrew
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Albany, NY
Posts: 2,257
Rewards Points: 1,010
Default

Undercabinet outlets


I assume he means on the underside of upper cabinets.
__________________
Andrew

secutanudu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2010, 11:51 AM   #8
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,818
Rewards Points: 2,434
Default

Undercabinet outlets


Check out page 798 of this link.

http://www.hubbell-wiring.com/htm/ResiSwitches.htm

As long as the receptacles are no higher than 20" above the countertop it will satisfy the code.

__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2 wire outlets: connect neutral to ground? border collie Electrical 19 04-12-2013 01:29 PM
Replacing kitch outlets to GFCI jhubert Electrical 7 11-16-2009 08:23 PM
Code issues for witch operated outlets above kitchen cabinets? jcims Electrical 5 03-25-2009 08:28 PM
outlets work, but barely (?) joeyboy Electrical 7 08-27-2008 09:37 AM
Problem W/ Power after Switching Outlets... G19-Fanatic Electrical 17 08-28-2006 02:55 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.