Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-05-2010, 09:56 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 20
Share |
Default

Undercabinet Lighting on Small Appliance Circuit


Is it against code to tie off of one of the small appliance circuits, through a switch to the undercabinet lighting?

behrend is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2010, 10:01 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Default

Undercabinet Lighting on Small Appliance Circuit


Yes, no hard wired lighting can be tied in
A transformer for lights could be plugged in
Or a table lamp plugged in

Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2010, 11:35 AM   #3
Electrician
 
Proby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: NJ
Posts: 818
Default

Undercabinet Lighting on Small Appliance Circuit


Quote:
Originally Posted by behrend View Post
Is it against code to tie off of one of the small appliance circuits, through a switch to the undercabinet lighting?
Yes, it is against code. Is it a safety hazard? Not at all. This is simply an issue of the NEC sticking it's nose into design issues, something it should have no part of.

Be aware that if you were to do this, you would have to run #12 wire to the UC light. That could be a bit tricky when feeding 120V lights directly. It's better to just use another 15A circuit with #14 wire.
__________________
Anything fun is either illegal, immoral, or fattening.
Proby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2010, 11:39 PM   #4
Electrical Contractor
 
kbsparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Delmarva
Posts: 3,360
Default

Undercabinet Lighting on Small Appliance Circuit


You can install a wall switch for control of undercabinet lights and have the installation be code-compliant on your SA circuit.

This back-door method involves installing an outlet under the cabinet, usually in a shallow wire-mold box. Your wall switch can control this outlet. Simply plug in your fixture into that outlet.

As long as it's cord-and-plug connected, the Code is satisfied.
__________________
-KB

Life is uncertain -- eat dessert first!!
kbsparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New circuit breaker owen22 Electrical 14 01-12-2010 07:08 PM
20 amp lighting circuit trosenda Electrical 4 01-04-2010 12:26 PM
Best undercabinet lighting ingeborgdot Electrical 5 10-05-2009 11:00 PM
Do I need a new box? pcampbell Electrical 20 01-07-2009 06:16 PM
Number of circuits needed for a small kitchen? All responses welcome! alexz Electrical 5 04-07-2007 10:38 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.