Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-24-2009, 08:12 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 29
Share |
Default

Undercabinet lighting power source? Ideas?


We're doing a kitchen remodel and I currently have the drywall out exposing the outlets for the countertops. I want to install undercabinet lighting but after scanning many sites, there was mention that I could not use the last outlet in a (dedicated) circuit to be my power source. Is that right? The circuit has a GFCI on it and it is a circuit just for the outlets on the countertops only. Here are some other details for the kitchen area:

- Sink is located on a kitchen island, so there is no water source near the cabinets/counters where I'm trying to install the lights.
- I was planning to use the last outlet as a power source and put the junction box exposed in the bottom cabinet somewhere.
- Circuit I was planning to use is on a standard 20A'er.

I was trying to do this work myself since I have some basic electric skills, but if I need to hire a professional, so be it. Anyone else hook these up? I'm looking to chain about 5 together on a switch but not do it where I have to physically plug them in to an outlet. I would rather have them wired in directly and put on a switch.

PDubs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2009, 08:32 PM   #2
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Stillwater, MN
Posts: 19
Default

Undercabinet lighting power source? Ideas?


Maybe just mount a receptacle in the back of a cabinet, and run the plug in up to that? You could have it switched by making it a switched outlet. Just a thought I'm having trouble seeing what your talking about though....
As for the not using the last receptacle... I don't think you would be allowed to use any receptacle because those 2 20 amp circuits are dedicated for kitchen appliances? Good luck Ben

swaterbenny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2009, 09:38 PM   #3
Member
 
dSilanskas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Cape Cod, Massachusetts
Posts: 474
Default

Undercabinet lighting power source? Ideas?


Kill the power to the last outlet you plan on using, Remove the outlet and the box that the outlet is installed in. Change the box to a two gang box. Poke a little hole above the outlet I am assuming that is where you want to start the lights. Fish a wire down to the two gang box. You can hard wire the lights into the whip you left. After you are done wiring the lights install the outlet and put a switch in.
dSilanskas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2009, 06:33 AM   #4
Remodeling Contractor
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Sandy Hook, CT
Posts: 3,590
Default

Undercabinet lighting power source? Ideas?


The outlets in a kitchen cannot be used for lighting by code.
Bob Mariani is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2009, 08:31 AM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: New Jersey, USA
Posts: 1,202
Default

Undercabinet lighting power source? Ideas?


Why not just run another 15A, 14/2 cable for the lighting? As has already been said, you cannot use a dedicated kitchen receptacle circuit for lighting. Besides, 14/2 will be much easier to work with than 12/2.

FW
__________________

KE2KB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2009, 08:35 AM   #6
Electrician
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Connecticut, Litchfield
Posts: 2,015
Default

Undercabinet lighting power source? Ideas?


Quote:
Originally Posted by KE2KB View Post
Why not just run another 15A, 14/2 cable for the lighting? As has already been said, you cannot use a dedicated kitchen receptacle circuit for lighting. Besides, 14/2 will be much easier to work with than 12/2.

FW

Oh sure, confuse the guy with simplicity....
chris75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2009, 11:01 PM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 29
Default

Undercabinet lighting power source? Ideas?


Quote:
Originally Posted by KE2KB View Post
Why not just run another 15A, 14/2 cable for the lighting? As has already been said, you cannot use a dedicated kitchen receptacle circuit for lighting. Besides, 14/2 will be much easier to work with than 12/2.

FW
So uh...yeah. Did you want to supersize that?

Seriously, that totally went over my head. It sounds like you are saying create a new 15A circuit from the breaker box, but the fractions following that sound like wire gauges? When I pulled the wall apart, I can see the beige-colored wire wrap with what looks to be 3, 12 gauge copper wires. Not sure if that's accurate or not, but the house was built in 1999.

If I'm understanding you right, and from Googling "14/2", it sounds like I should run a new 15A circuit breaker line using 14/2 cable? If that's true, then how in the heck do I access the back of the breaker box and shut off MAIN power to add a new line/circuit? I know I have a secondary fuse box outside of the house but didn't check to see if it has MAIN switch on there or not.
PDubs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2009, 04:37 AM   #8
Remodeling Contractor
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Sandy Hook, CT
Posts: 3,590
Default

Undercabinet lighting power source? Ideas?


These lights do not take much power. Either take power from a light switch box or from a junction box in the attic or basement. Just not from the kitchen or dinning room receptacle outlets.

Bob Mariani is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Undercabinet lighting: What would you use? Karde Electrical 3 01-04-2009 10:26 AM
need power for 120v to 12v undercabinet lights robin hood Electrical 2 02-26-2008 03:43 PM
Ideas for lighting odd room crecore Remodeling 2 12-12-2007 07:45 PM
Three electricans said it was impossible! Tom Electrical 35 04-29-2006 05:06 PM
Shop Power & Lighting schoondogg Electrical 1 10-09-2005 01:15 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.