Under Cabinet Lights - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-15-2010, 01:35 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Vermont
Posts: 19
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Under cabinet lights


I used to have some under cabinet fluorescent lights. Since I hate fluorescent lights, I was glad when they died. One of those lights was under the cabinets on the left of the attached pic. The power comes directly out of the wall and is controlled by the switch on the left. This can be seen in the other pic.

So, I installed a few new lights from a kit. They're under the cabinets on the left of the included pic. My wife liked them so much that we got another two sets. We want to put one set over the stove. What I'm wondering is if I can just drill a hole through the bottom of the cabinet and run the wires through the cabinets. This would keep the wires hidden, especially where they would have to run down the outside of the cabinet to the upper left of the stove. The reason why I'm wondering this is because if we try to sell the house at some point, will we have problems because these wires are running through the cabinets?

The lights are each rated for 120V.
Attached Thumbnails
Under cabinet lights-lights2.jpg   Under cabinet lights-lights3.jpg  

Advertisement

dismas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2010, 02:10 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Springfield OH
Posts: 768
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Under cabinet lights


I can offer a couple of suggestions that may be worth considering. I have seen enough "professional" installation of wires in cabinets to assume that this practice must be acceptable. However, all such examples I have seen have the wires in conduit (rigid or flexible), to protect from inadvertant damage and shock. Second, make sure you put all connections (wire nuts in lower photo) in junction box. Exposed connections such at the ones you have are not good.

As a personal view, I think this also happens to look better, and as if the installer knew what they were doing.

Advertisement

oberkc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2010, 03:41 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Vermont
Posts: 19
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Under cabinet lights


Quote:
Originally Posted by oberkc View Post
Second, make sure you put all connections (wire nuts in lower photo) in junction box. Exposed connections such at the ones you have are not good.
What options do I have for a junction box for this? Do they make one that just tucks up under there?
dismas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2010, 04:52 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Springfield OH
Posts: 768
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Under cabinet lights


I have a situation very similar to yours. I found a thin junction box at one of the usual outlets. It is about 1" thick. If I recall, they are pretty commonly available. I mounted the switch in mine, as well as the wire connections.
oberkc is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
under cabinet lights 7echo Electrical 3 12-06-2009 08:24 AM
under cabinet lights Barry J Electrical 3 07-05-2009 11:07 AM
Under cabinet lights Cossack Electrical 4 04-02-2009 09:41 PM
German Bathroom Cabinet with Lights jhassall@dornbracht.co.uk Electrical 2 01-06-2009 01:58 PM
kitchen under cabinet lights DIYGST Electrical 1 01-05-2009 02:01 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts