Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-02-2013, 09:45 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: far sw sub chicago
Posts: 3,888
Rewards Points: 2,248
Default

under cabinet lights


when wiring. can/should they be hard wired in a box, or should i put an outlet and plug em in ? this will be in the back wall inside the cabinets. and they will all be on a wall switch. 120v.

Fix'n it is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2013, 09:46 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: far sw sub chicago
Posts: 3,888
Rewards Points: 2,248
Default

under cabinet lights


oh. while we are at it. any tips and/or advice on anything to do with under cab lights ?

thanx

Fix'n it is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2013, 09:51 AM   #3
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,340
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

under cabinet lights


Technically, you cannot run a cord from the UC lights thru the cabinet to a receptacle.

The right way to do this is to run a whip out just under the cabinets and hardwire the fixtures.

You could also install a receptacle outside of the cabinet and plug them in. However, I have had a couple inspectors make customers hard wire them.
__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2013, 09:59 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: far sw sub chicago
Posts: 3,888
Rewards Points: 2,248
Default

under cabinet lights


Quote:
Originally Posted by k_buz View Post
Technically, you cannot run a cord from the UC lights thru the cabinet to a receptacle.

The right way to do this is to run a whip out just under the cabinets and hardwire the fixtures.

You could also install a receptacle outside of the cabinet and plug them in. However, I have had a couple inspectors make customers hard wire them.

yeah, thats what i thought. even though i did it in last home.

so. your saying that there would be wire nuts under my cabinets ?

i don't like that option. more stuff on the backsplash.
Fix'n it is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2013, 10:01 AM   #5
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,340
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

under cabinet lights


No, all connections to the fixtures would be made inside the fixture. I can assume you purchased fixtures with cords already on them...

Those do not lend themselves well to hardwiring. You really need to find fixtures that are specifically designed for hardwiring.
__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2013, 10:10 AM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: far sw sub chicago
Posts: 3,888
Rewards Points: 2,248
Default

under cabinet lights


i have not purchased the UC lights yet. that is a winter project.

is running NM through drywall code ?
Fix'n it is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2013, 10:12 AM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: far sw sub chicago
Posts: 3,888
Rewards Points: 2,248
Default

under cabinet lights


is there a flat'ish box i could mount to the underside of the cabinet ?
Fix'n it is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2013, 10:15 AM   #8
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,340
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

under cabinet lights


Quote:
Originally Posted by Fix'n it View Post
i have not purchased the UC lights yet. that is a winter project.

is running NM through drywall code ?
Ummm...yeah. The fixtures would/should be tight to the wall. There will be no exposed romex. Although, exposed romex on the bottom of an upper cabinet would probably pass code.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fix'n it View Post
is there a flat'ish box i could mount to the underside of the cabinet ?
Nothing THAT flat.
__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2013, 10:31 AM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: far sw sub chicago
Posts: 3,888
Rewards Points: 2,248
Default

under cabinet lights


Quote:
Originally Posted by k_buz View Post
The fixtures would/should be tight to the wall.



Nothing THAT flat.
really ? i installed my last ones at the front underedge of the cabinet. it worked real well lighting the countertops. i plan to do the same here.

perhaps i can modify a plastic, or even metal, box to make it real flat. it would only need to hold a lil wire and 3 nuts. hmmmm
Fix'n it is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2013, 10:36 AM   #10
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,340
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

under cabinet lights


Undercabinet lights should be at the back of the cabinet...at least the hardwired ones I have used.

You can not modify a box. You could cut it into the bottom of the cabinet (facing down) but that is a hell of alot more work than hardwiring the fixture.

You would need a box at least 10 CU IN.
__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.



Last edited by k_buz; 09-02-2013 at 10:38 AM.
k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2013, 10:44 AM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: far sw sub chicago
Posts: 3,888
Rewards Points: 2,248
Default

under cabinet lights


ok. do you know how deep the shallowest box is ?
Fix'n it is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2013, 10:44 AM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: far sw sub chicago
Posts: 3,888
Rewards Points: 2,248
Default

under cabinet lights


btw, THANX for your advice.
Fix'n it is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2013, 01:32 PM   #13
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 91
Rewards Points: 75
Default

under cabinet lights


Do you mean under cabinet puck lights? .... using a 12V transformer and 20W (or so) halogen or LED bulbs? Check out the selection at a big box store ... hardwired with a wall switch is the way to go.
RocketGal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2013, 07:09 PM   #14
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: far sw sub chicago
Posts: 3,888
Rewards Points: 2,248
Default

under cabinet lights


idk what i am going to get, yet.
Fix'n it is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2013, 05:44 AM   #15
Electrical Contractor
 
Philly Master's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: SE PA
Posts: 1,137
Rewards Points: 500
Default

under cabinet lights


they make a wire mold box that is 3/4" , blank it off ....we use that as the junction at each set of cabinets ... usually like 3 different sets .. then you can use NON NM under the cabinet .... the 120v puck light kits are inexpensive, we cut the cords/plugs off and then use the junction ...

__________________
Philadelphia Master Electrician-Generac Dealer
Philly Master is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Philly Master For This Useful Post:
Fix'n it (09-04-2013)
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help with replacing under cabinet lights miami mama Electrical 4 10-20-2011 10:03 PM
Want to make under cabinet lights right Dshow Electrical 3 06-23-2011 07:49 PM
Under cabinet Lights? kcrossley2 Electrical 44 06-27-2010 11:14 AM
Kitchen sink not centered. gmhut Plumbing 5 06-01-2010 11:44 AM
under cabinet lights Barry J Electrical 3 07-05-2009 10:07 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.