Under Cabinet Lighting Wire Size - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-29-2012, 04:12 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 27
Rewards Points: 25
Default

under cabinet lighting wire size


I have a switch that was wired for an outlet under the sink maybe for a disposal which I don't have instead I used the switch to power four 12" flouresant T-5 under cabinet lights. I direct wired the lights together one to the other then but I ran out of 12/2 wire and instead ran 9' of 14/2 wire to the last light, it was late Sunday night and I wanted to get done. From the switch to the first light is in the wall the rest of the wire is exposed, inside the cabinet's. This is all that I can find on the 20 amp circuit.
I've since read here that 20 amp breakers normally use 12/2 wire.

Do I need to go back and change the 14/2 to 12/2 for the last light?
I ask because:
  1. it's a pain in the but to fit all those wires in those small lights
  2. they came with lamp cord that could have been used to jump from one to the other
  3. they're on a switch that is off 90% of the time.
Thanks in advance

Advertisement

gcan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2012, 04:20 PM   #2
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,994
Rewards Points: 2,786
Default

under cabinet lighting wire size


You cannot protect a #14 with a 20 amp breaker. You can either replace the #14 or change the breaker to 15 amps.

Advertisement

__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2012, 04:24 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Eighty Four, Pa.15330
Posts: 1,399
Rewards Points: 796
Default

under cabinet lighting wire size


Read about tap rules. You are legal.
bobelectric is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2012, 04:54 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 27
Rewards Points: 25
Default

under cabinet lighting wire size


bob - I'll read the tap rules - thank you

Jim - protect it? surely the 14/2 can handle more than the lamp cord that comes with these lights

I do not know how to change a breaker, actually being a DIY'er I have always avoided working in the main panel
gcan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2012, 08:13 AM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 27
Rewards Points: 25
Default

under cabinet lighting wire size


what gauge is standard lamp cord? With the code requiring certain gauge wire for safety are the cords also regulated?

My point being on my garage I used the lamp cord provided to plug in the undercabinet lights and then daisy chained two other lights again with the wire provided.

Should I change those lighs as well?
gcan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2012, 08:48 AM   #6
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,343
Rewards Points: 2,006
Default

under cabinet lighting wire size


If those lights came as a kit and the instructions say you are able to do it that way, they also probably give you a limit of how many lights you can wire together using the lamp cord. If you stay within those manufacturer specs, you are fine.
__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2012, 08:52 AM   #7
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,994
Rewards Points: 2,786
Default

under cabinet lighting wire size


The load on the fixture wires is known. This is why they are allowed to be smaller. The load on building wiring is not known and needs to be sized properly in order to be protected by the breakers.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2012, 09:09 AM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 27
Rewards Points: 25
Default

under cabinet lighting wire size


(just trying to understand) - how is it different using the supplied cord between two lights and using 14/2 instead of 12/2 between two lights? my original post has 12/2 from the switch to all but the last light which I jumped to with 14/2, all tied together and the wire is exposed, but now it has ti be changed?
gcan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2012, 09:15 AM   #9
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,343
Rewards Points: 2,006
Default

under cabinet lighting wire size


Because the lamp cord supplied with the undercabinet lights were approved by UL for certain specifications/uses. Those are stated in the instructions. There are probably special connectors that have to be used that came prefabbed on the cords as well. When you extend the circuit with your own 14-2 romex, you are giving the impression that this wiring is part of the house wiring and someone in the future can connect more lights/receptacles off this circuit. If more lights are connected, that lamp cord which may be as small as 16-2 now could have 20A of current running thru it causing a fire hazzard.
__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2012, 09:17 AM   #10
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,994
Rewards Points: 2,786
Default

under cabinet lighting wire size


It may seem to be an issue of semantics, but the electric code is not written to allow the last portion of the circuit to be smaller like in your example.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2012, 09:19 AM   #11
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,994
Rewards Points: 2,786
Default

under cabinet lighting wire size


Quote:
Originally Posted by bobelectric View Post
Read about tap rules. You are legal.
Could you please expand on how this would be legal?
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Jim Port For This Useful Post:
k_buz (09-30-2012), stickboy1375 (09-30-2012)
Old 09-30-2012, 09:19 AM   #12
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,343
Rewards Points: 2,006
Default

under cabinet lighting wire size


Also, consider if someone did connect to that last fixture to install say a shop light, that shop light will not be grounded. Your typical lamp cord does not carry a ground.
__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2012, 02:26 PM   #13
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 5,162
Rewards Points: 2,116
Default

under cabinet lighting wire size


Quote:
Originally Posted by bobelectric View Post
Read about tap rules. You are legal.
Incorrect...
stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2012, 06:26 PM   #14
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

under cabinet lighting wire size


Quote:
Originally Posted by bobelectric View Post
Read about tap rules. You are legal.
Vous êtes sérieux ?

( You are serious ? )


Merci,
Marc

Advertisement

__________________
The answer will be based on NEC ( National Electrical code ) or CEC ( Cananda Electrical code ) or ECF ( Electrique Code France )
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
under and in cabinet lighting fabian General DIY Discussions 2 10-10-2011 11:04 PM
wire size question analogmusicman Electrical 8 09-01-2011 07:17 PM
ceiling fan wicked97 Electrical 4 08-21-2011 09:12 AM
Size of Wire & type of wire agman Electrical 6 11-10-2009 09:13 PM
wire size wire to 10kw furnace? lochcarron Electrical 1 04-10-2005 08:43 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts