Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-29-2008, 05:53 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Under cabinet lighting direct wiring


I am remodeling my kitchen and I want to hardwire in under cabinet lighting. I want to locate the fixtures at the front edge of the cabinet and run the romex back along the underside of the upper cabinet and into the wall, up to a j-box in the attic (where it will meet up with the wires from the other lights) and over to a switch. I'm told that it doesn't meet code to have exposed romex like that, even the 8 inches or so on the underside of the cabinet. Can I just cover this with wire mold or is there some other perferable way to make this connection?

Schwarzaroo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2008, 06:45 PM   #2
My License Ain't 4 Sale..
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Atlanta, Ga/Hamilton, Al
Posts: 1,813
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Under cabinet lighting direct wiring


Quote:
Originally Posted by Schwarzaroo View Post
I am remodeling my kitchen and I want to hardwire in under cabinet lighting. I want to locate the fixtures at the front edge of the cabinet and run the romex back along the underside of the upper cabinet and into the wall, up to a j-box in the attic (where it will meet up with the wires from the other lights) and over to a switch. I'm told that it doesn't meet code to have exposed romex like that, even the 8 inches or so on the underside of the cabinet. Can I just cover this with wire mold or is there some other perferable way to make this connection?
Romex can be exposed where it is not subject to excessive moisture or physical damage. For your use I would consider it acceptable.

InPhase277 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2008, 03:26 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 16
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Under cabinet lighting direct wiring


wiremold works good or you can get kichler undercabs that have interconnect cords. You can daisy chain the lights together. I like the kichlers because you dont need to do and wiring beside the first light.
cambruzzi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2008, 06:05 PM   #4
Electrician
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Connecticut, Litchfield
Posts: 2,015
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Under cabinet lighting direct wiring


exposed NM (RX) is fine and legal.
chris75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2008, 06:31 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Jackson,Ohio
Posts: 232
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Under cabinet lighting direct wiring


Not to hijack but since it's on same topic no need to start new thread. I have a manufactured home with no access to attic and such. Can you tap into an outlet on the backsplash to gain power for a switch/undermount light?
MikeVila is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2008, 09:25 PM   #6
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,697
Rewards Points: 2,192
Default

Under cabinet lighting direct wiring


Sorry Mike,

The small appliance branch circuits for the countertops cannot serve lighting loads.

Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Under Cabinet Lighting alexgwoodruff Electrical 1 07-09-2008 08:15 PM
Low Voltage Cabinet Lighting Recommendations BigJimmy Electrical 2 01-20-2008 01:01 PM
Replacing wiring in middle of run, ungrounded lighting circuit alexz Electrical 3 07-05-2007 08:53 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.