Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-09-2010, 10:59 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 25
Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Default

under cabinet lighting


Just wondering what is the best way to run under cabinet lighting. I do not want the plug in from the first bank of lights comming down the wall and plugged into my counter plug. I already have the wire to a switch just not sure what to do now. How do i hardwire these? My cabinets will have the wood trip around the bottom to hide wiring and the lights. Again im in Canada , Alberta .

Thanks all you guys are really great on this site.

83trekker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2010, 07:21 AM   #2
Remodeling Contractor
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Sandy Hook, CT
Posts: 3,590
Rewards Points: 0
Default

under cabinet lighting


Run the wire from the switch to a junction box in the back of one upper cabinet. Route the undercabinet light wires along the back bottom of the cabinets and then into the junction box.

Bob Mariani is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2010, 09:25 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: SoCal
Posts: 1,794
Rewards Points: 0
Default

under cabinet lighting


In my recent kitchen remodel I installed a switched 120v outlet in the cabinet above the cooking range, above the exhaust hood. There I plug in a low voltage transformer and ran the wires down and around the underside of the cabinets to the lights.

One issue I encountered was that I selected halogen low voltage round puck lights - they run very hot - so hot as to be uncomfortably warm to the touch inside the cabinet. I placed a 6"x6" piece of sheet metal as a heat shield between the light and the cabinet - problem solved. If I had a do-over I would use LED lights.
vsheetz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2010, 10:39 AM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 25
Rewards Points: 0
Default

under cabinet lighting


All the under mount lights i see have a normal plug in, would i cut that off and run it into the box and hard wire it?
83trekker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2010, 01:18 PM   #5
Remodeling Contractor
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Sandy Hook, CT
Posts: 3,590
Rewards Points: 0
Default

under cabinet lighting


yes if these are line voltage lights (120V) No if these are low voltage and have a prong end to connect to a transformer.
Bob Mariani is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2010, 09:05 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 25
Rewards Points: 0
Default

under cabinet lighting


Can i install a plug in the cuboard like i do for a built in microwave oven?
83trekker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2010, 09:51 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Brooklyn, New York (NYC)
Posts: 1,124
Rewards Points: 0
Unhappy

under cabinet lighting


Quote:
Originally Posted by vsheetz View Post
In my recent kitchen remodel I installed a switched 120v outlet in the cabinet above the cooking range, above the exhaust hood. There I plug in a low voltage transformer and ran the wires down and around the underside of the cabinets to the lights.

One issue I encountered was that I selected halogen low voltage round puck lights - they run very hot - so hot as to be uncomfortably warm to the touch inside the cabinet. I placed a 6"x6" piece of sheet metal as a heat shield between the light and the cabinet - problem solved. If I had a do-over I would use LED lights.
I will not say that Halogen lights (in a kitchen) are "Pasee". But they are not the rage they once were. Today. LED lights are in vogue. For the very reason that you describe. I personally was very hesitant to design and install Halogen lights in kitchens. (even the low voltage lights.)!

Last edited by spark plug; 01-11-2010 at 11:42 AM. Reason: misspelling (Pasee vs. Passee)
spark plug is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2010, 07:08 AM   #8
Remodeling Contractor
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Sandy Hook, CT
Posts: 3,590
Rewards Points: 0
Default

under cabinet lighting


Quote:
Originally Posted by 83trekker View Post
Can i install a plug in the cuboard like i do for a built in microwave oven?
yes that is what you would do.

Bob Mariani is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Before I close walls: hard wiring under cabinet lighting with Romex. jws3 Electrical 6 08-29-2009 12:24 PM
Under cabinet lighting direct wiring Schwarzaroo Electrical 5 12-30-2008 09:25 PM
Under Cabinet Lighting alexgwoodruff Electrical 1 07-09-2008 08:15 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.