Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 07-09-2008, 04:42 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 1
Share |
Default

Under Cabinet Lighting


Hi all,

I am new here - searching the web for some answers!

I am in the middle of a kitchen refit - new cabinets/appliances etc.

We have a contractor who has agreed to put in some cabinet lights for us - both under cabinet lights and lights inside the cabinets.

He does not hold a license for electrical work (which concerns me) but used to run a construction business.

He wants to rewire an AC outlet as a lightswitch to control the cabinet lamps.

Talking to my brother in the UK (who is an electrician in the UK) he tells me that this should never be done unless I m sure that this outlet is not part of a ring, or a spur from a ring.

The lighting set we have bought for the job comes with a standard US 2 pin plug - so I am wondering if it is necessary to rewire the outlet. But if not, then what is the best way to hide the wires and/or outlet so that my wife's new kitchen looks wire free?

Thanks for reading, I hope you can help.

Alex

Edit: For reference - I am in the USA

Last edited by alexgwoodruff; 07-09-2008 at 05:24 PM.
alexgwoodruff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2008, 08:15 PM   #2
Electrician
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Connecticut, Litchfield
Posts: 2,015
Default

Under Cabinet Lighting


Quote:
Originally Posted by alexgwoodruff View Post
Hi all,

I am new here - searching the web for some answers!

I am in the middle of a kitchen refit - new cabinets/appliances etc.

We have a contractor who has agreed to put in some cabinet lights for us - both under cabinet lights and lights inside the cabinets.

He does not hold a license for electrical work (which concerns me) but used to run a construction business.

He wants to rewire an AC outlet as a lightswitch to control the cabinet lamps.

Talking to my brother in the UK (who is an electrician in the UK) he tells me that this should never be done unless I m sure that this outlet is not part of a ring, or a spur from a ring.

The lighting set we have bought for the job comes with a standard US 2 pin plug - so I am wondering if it is necessary to rewire the outlet. But if not, then what is the best way to hide the wires and/or outlet so that my wife's new kitchen looks wire free?

Thanks for reading, I hope you can help.

Alex

Edit: For reference - I am in the USA

Hire a pro. You cant use a kitchen receptacle for lighting loads... You will only be sorry in the end.
chris75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Rough in Cabinet Lighting cibula11 Electrical 1 04-27-2008 09:08 AM
Low Voltage Cabinet Lighting Recommendations BigJimmy Electrical 2 01-20-2008 01:01 PM
Under cabinet lighting TonyD Electrical 20 11-08-2007 06:00 AM
under cabinet lighting handifoot Electrical 1 05-25-2006 11:48 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.