Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-26-2013, 07:27 AM   #1
Member
 
BillZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 37
Share |
Default

Unbridged wall outlet?


New to me house. Switched receptacle. Only one of the outlets is affected by switch, other is always on. Is this a special receptacle? Is there a way to take the bridge out? Home center item?

BillZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2013, 07:35 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Ohio
Posts: 2,546
Default

Unbridged wall outlet?


Quote:
Originally Posted by BillZ View Post
New to me house. Switched receptacle. Only one of the outlets is affected by switch, other is always on. Is this a special receptacle? Is there a way to take the bridge out? Home center item?
Nothing special. Has to do with the tab on the side of the receptacle

Have no idea what you mean by taking the bridge out?

Either you want both halves of the receptacle to be switched or you want both halves to be always HOT
Attached Thumbnails
Unbridged wall outlet?-duplex-showing-tab.jpg  

hammerlane is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to hammerlane For This Useful Post:
BillZ (03-26-2013)
Old 03-26-2013, 07:38 AM   #3
Member
 
BillZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 37
Default

Unbridged wall outlet?


Is this a modification the original installer made? Several like this in house. Haven't pulled cover yet. Weekend project changing out worn plug,......and outlet colors for wife.
BillZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2013, 07:40 AM   #4
Member
 
BillZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 37
Default

Unbridged wall outlet?


Didn't know how to describe how both got power or how to separate. Thought copper tab was a sort of a bridge.
BillZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2013, 07:47 AM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hartfield VA
Posts: 25,876
Default

Unbridged wall outlet?


It s a jumper, just use a pair of needle nosed plyers to snap it off.
joecaption is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to joecaption For This Useful Post:
BillZ (03-26-2013)
Old 03-26-2013, 07:55 AM   #6
Member
 
BillZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 37
Default

Unbridged wall outlet?


Thanks. Kind of my thought but I've had really bad ideas in the past.
BillZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2013, 08:20 AM   #7
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,393
Default

Unbridged wall outlet?


Only the tab on the hot(gold) side gets broke off. Take a close look at the old receptacle when you remove it before you break the tabs. Make the new one match the old one.
__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to joed For This Useful Post:
BillZ (03-26-2013)
Old 03-26-2013, 08:35 AM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Ohio
Posts: 2,546
Default

Unbridged wall outlet?


So do you want the new receptacles to function the same as the old? where one half is switched and the other half is always HOT?
hammerlane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2013, 09:11 AM   #9
Member
 
BillZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 37
Default

Unbridged wall outlet?


Yes. One has a lamp, other has a phone base.
BillZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2013, 05:50 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Cairns Australia
Posts: 2,375
Default

Unbridged wall outlet?


Quote:
Originally Posted by BillZ View Post
New to me house. Switched receptacle. Only one of the outlets is affected by switch, other is always on. Is this a special receptacle? Is there a way to take the bridge out? Home center item?

If only one is switched whilst the other is not !
Then the bridge is most likely already out !

What do you want, both switched ?
Or both pemanent powered ?
dmxtothemax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2013, 08:17 PM   #11
Member
 
BillZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 37
Default

Unbridged wall outlet?


I'm replacing it. Wasn't sure if I needed to buy a particular outlet or modify. Think I'm squared away now.
BillZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2013, 08:23 PM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Eighty Four, Pa.15330
Posts: 1,216
Default

Unbridged wall outlet?


Code says every room must have a switched lighting outlet.
bobelectric is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2013, 08:26 PM   #13
Member
 
BillZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 37
Default

Unbridged wall outlet?


All the rooms have overheads besides this one. This one will remain switched.
BillZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2013, 08:30 PM   #14
Electrical Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 725
Default

Unbridged wall outlet?


Quote:
Originally Posted by bobelectric
Code says every room must have a switched lighting outlet.
I thought this was only if there is no overhead light?
Kyle_in_rure is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2013, 08:59 PM   #15
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,696
Default

Unbridged wall outlet?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Kyle_in_rure View Post
I thought this was only if there is no overhead light?
They have the same meaning!

It must have either a switched receptacle or switched lighting outlet.

__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to jbfan For This Useful Post:
Kyle_in_rure (03-26-2013)
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Outlet box outside of wall? tommy83 Electrical 1 11-28-2012 12:06 PM
Two Switches, an outdoor light, and a wall plug MichaelT Electrical 1 03-06-2011 05:17 PM
Code requirements for outlet placement WillK Electrical 8 11-30-2010 08:16 PM
Range outlet pushes oven too far from wall givemeabreak Electrical 8 08-19-2008 12:14 AM
Raising Doorway Height (load bearing?) treefrog Building & Construction 6 02-25-2008 09:11 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.