Ugly Cablevision Phone Cables Everywhere! - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 03-25-2012, 12:02 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 25

Ugly Cablevision Phone cables everywhere!

I recently switched over from AT&T phone/cable/Internet service to Cablevision.

The problem with both services is the coax cable coming through a hole in the wall from outside and then a phone line from their modem stapled to the floor board and tied into the phone outlet inside. Then there's my phone lines, the coax cable to the TV... It's a disgusting mess.

I'd like to install a combination phone line and cable outlet in the wall and get rid of as much loose wiring as possible. The phone line would come through the same area as the cable and I'd wire it on the other end to the main box outside the house.

I have no experience with this so my question is can I take the phone line from the Cablevision modem and simply plug it into the outlet and get all the phones in the house to work or does it have to be hard wired or piggybacked inside the outlet?

Advertisement

Peter D. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2012, 12:19 PM   #2
Wire Chewer

Rewards Points: 2,020

If you have a finished basement it's very hard to do, but if it's unfinished then it should be a breeze. Basically you'd make a hole in the wall where you want the jack, get a very long drill bit and drill down through that hole, go in the basement look for where the hole is (check for saw dust on the ground) and then you can run the wires from the basement to the jack.

You can also do this from the attic but it's a huge pain to work up there so I usually avoid it myself if I can. But some attics are more accessible than others.

Advertisement

Red Squirrel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2012, 03:15 PM   #3
Electrical Contractor

Rewards Points: 1,000