Uf 6/3 Underground Cable - Electrical - Page 2 - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-09-2009, 11:32 AM   #16
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 5,231
Rewards Points: 2,432
Default

Uf 6/3 underground cable


Ok Patti

I have a chocolate lab named Maggie so I have a great appreciation for kennel owners. In your case though you are remodeling to a cottage.

The reason I asked about the cable is you will need 4 wires in it for your application. You need 2 hots, a neutral, and a ground wire so 4 wires total.

You need to keep the neutrals and grounds separate at the sub-panel in the kennel/cottage building. In other words each will have there own terminal bar at the sub-panel and they will not be electrical connected or bonded. This often means you will need to purchase a ground bar kit for your sub-panel. You will not install the main bonding jumper which is often a green screw that comes in a package with the new sub-panel. Be sure you understand how to keep the ground and neutral isolated electrically from each other. If not ask questions here and we will get you straight on what to do. You will need a couple ground rods.
I'll attach a graphic to illustrate what I am talking about.
Attached Thumbnails
Uf 6/3 underground cable-4-wire-subpanel-detached.jpg  

Advertisement

__________________
" One nice thing about the NEC articles ... you have lots of choices"

Stubbie

Last edited by Stubbie; 04-09-2009 at 11:40 AM.
Stubbie is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2009, 07:45 PM   #17
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,294
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Uf 6/3 underground cable


Quote:
There is nothing wrong with running UF.
It is almost as easy to run conduit/wire and probably less expensive.

Conduit provides some physical protection as well as an opportunity to replace wires if anything should happen to them.

Stuff happens. Electrical installations do not last forever and underground is one of the most harsh enviroments we encounter.

Use conduit.
220/221 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2009, 08:07 PM   #18
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Iowa
Posts: 1,543
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Uf 6/3 underground cable


I had only part of my se in conduit, mostly directly buried wire. Now when I had some digging and the se had to be cut and a temp installed, I needed a new SE. Poco wanted conduit, cable wanted conduit, and phone wanted conduit.

Well, poco paralleled two sets of 2/0 AL and 4/0AL for a 400 amp service, this time they used a 250 and two 350s.
rgsgww is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2009, 10:41 AM   #19
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Uf 6/3 underground cable


Hi Stubbie,

Thanks for the info and illustration. I will print this out and pass it on to the electrician.
You know what they say about 2 heads being better then one. I will take all the knowledge I can get seeing I don't have a clue about any of this electric stuff. I'm a para transit driver for a living!
I have learned a lot about remodeling in the last month. The biggest lesson I've learned is once you start tearing things apart, you never know what your going to find!

I have a yellow lab, her name is Jada. She's my 80# lap dog. I also have a Jack Russell/Shiatzu mix. He's the boss of everyone.
Patti K is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2009, 10:51 AM   #20
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 5,231
Rewards Points: 2,432
Default

Uf 6/3 underground cable


Hi Patti

It's great you have an electrician to help with the project. He probably won't need the diagram so I'd just run the neutral and ground separation past him to see what he says. You must always have 4 wires if you have metal paths (metal water pipe for example) besides the electrical connecting the house with the cottage. It's a good idea no matter whether you do or not. A 4 wire cable is 6/3G or 6/3 with ground. Meaning 3 conductors (2 hots and neutral) plus a ground.

Hope the cottage comes out the way you want.

Advertisement

__________________
" One nice thing about the NEC articles ... you have lots of choices"

Stubbie
Stubbie is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Satellite vs. cable coaxial types? Badfish740 Home Theater 6 02-17-2009 12:00 PM
min depth for fiber optic cable underground? MusicMan_234 Electrical 5 01-30-2009 01:32 AM
No Signal From Tv Cable LJMSURG Electrical 17 10-11-2008 09:00 AM
Coaxial Cable Question bahaisamurai Home Theater 9 08-08-2007 03:54 PM
Underground cable Lonicera Electrical 6 04-24-2006 07:48 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts