Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-02-2010, 09:35 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 332
Share |
Question

Type of wiring for 60 AMP forced air unit


What is the gauge and type of wiring used with a 60 AMP forced air unit?

tripower is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2010, 10:22 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3,503
Default

Type of wiring for 60 AMP forced air unit


Look at the nameplate. And what is a "forced air unit"? Is it a fan?

J. V. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2010, 10:38 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 332
Default

Type of wiring for 60 AMP forced air unit


A forced air unit as opposed to a heat pump. I cannot make out labelling on the existing wiring it looks like TYPE SB 6.
tripower is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2010, 02:42 PM   #4
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Default

Type of wiring for 60 AMP forced air unit


Do this unit have electric heater in there ??

Really the best and safest way is verify the manufacter nameplate info they will have all the info like voltage , amp plus if have electric heater in there it will tell you what Kw rating in there as well.

once we know the requirement then we can go from there.

Acourding your exsting cable sound like you have 16mm˛ { #6 AWG } if that the case then you have to stay with that size.

Merci,Marc
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2010, 03:03 PM   #5
Electrical Contractor
 
kbsparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Delmarva
Posts: 3,360
Default

Type of wiring for 60 AMP forced air unit


Quote:
Originally Posted by tripower View Post
A forced air unit as opposed to a heat pump. I cannot make out labelling on the existing wiring it looks like TYPE SB 6.
Maybe you have type SE 6? That would be standard for a 60 Amp circuit, capable of powering an air handler, with a 10 kW strip heater installed.
__________________
-KB

Life is uncertain -- eat dessert first!!
kbsparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2010, 03:39 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 332
Exclamation

Type of wiring for 60 AMP forced air unit


I went to the hardware store it is indeed #6 aluminium (multi-strand shielded). But the hardware store only had copper which he says is better. And they also have a single strand ground wire which he says will work as well. Should I move from aluminium to copper and from multi-strand to single strand ground?

tripower is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What is the price difference between a 2.5 ton unit and a 3 ton unit? Leoskee HVAC 5 06-12-2014 12:00 PM
$1440+ labor only repair on 3 yr. old Goodman unit!?! JMK HVAC 23 05-06-2012 10:45 AM
Wiring For an A/C Unit schultz56 Electrical 5 02-15-2010 03:03 PM
Getting Gas To A Unit Heater: Type of Pipe? story HVAC 4 10-26-2009 07:19 AM
AC condensing unit failure? Hotinsummer HVAC 3 08-09-2009 02:08 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.